Hope this black magic works ๐Ÿ˜†

in #naturalmedicine โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

By black magic I mean crushed up charcoal on my foot... But black magic sounds more exciting, right?

Ironically, actual black magic is how I ended up in this situation in the first place.

But that's a story for another day when I'm not posting from the edge of a bathtub.

This situation = I got stung by an ant again about forty minutes ago.

I'm really allergic to ants and bees.

If I get stung, the first 10-15 minutes are crucial for whether I swell up to the point of not being able to walk for a week or not.

Baking soda seems to help keep it from swelling as much... if I can get it on the bite fast enough.

I have no idea where I read that it helps with swelling... All I know is in the past, my foot has swollen up to only the size of one balloon instead of two when I've used it. ๐ŸŽˆ๐ŸŽˆ

Since I'm allergic, I always travel with a Ziploc bag full of white powder labeled "baking soda," and sweat profusely as I walk through security at the airport hoping they don't think it's crack.

It's really not crack!

A new thing I've discovered also, is activated charcoal.

People take it for lots of things, but it's original use was to suck up poison for food poisoning.

Supposedly it sucks up bug poison, too. We shall see.

I didn't get it on there until about 25-30 minutes after the bite happened, so I might not have put it on fast enough.

All I do know is this: last time before steemfest my foot got infected from an ant bite and I had to go to the doctor.

This time, I'm going overboard to hopefully avoid that.

I wish this happened on a Wednesday so I could continue with the "Weird experiment Wednesday" theme I sorta started.

But hey.

Living on the wild side and experimenting on a Friday night.

Here's what's on my foot right now:

๐Ÿ‘‰ Baking soda
๐Ÿ‘‰ Activated charcoal
๐Ÿ‘‰ Lemon juice ๐Ÿ‹
๐Ÿ‘‰ Tea tree oil
๐Ÿ‘‰ Lavendar oil
๐Ÿ‘‰ Stupid ant poison

I'll let you guys know if these natural remedies suck or if they really work!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort: ย 

I hope you start to feel better. I took activated coal once when I lived in Indonesia after suspecting I had food poisoning. It seemed to work.

Thanks!!! That's why I have it... Hahaha Bali belly is just way too real

Posted using Partiko iOS

I visited Bali on a few occasions. My stomach struggles were mostly related to Sumatra.

I have a plant called bulbinella in my garden that I put on a bee sting the other day. My daughter stepped on a bee, I rubbed the stinger off, I broke a leaf off the bulbinella and smeared the gel all over her foot, ran into the house and made a quick paste of baking soda and breastmilk (from the tap :P) and put a bandage over her foot (to keep the baking soda paste in place and the bandage is good for placebo effect in toddlers). I promise you, she didn't even swell one bit!!!! I was amazed!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow!!!!! I need that plant! Wish I could somehow grow plants and travel at the same time!! I'm super allergic to ants and bees, so I really truly rely on this stuff to minimize the effects!

Oh no! Not this again!!! Your poor foot :(

Don't put ant poison on your foot, you crazy one :-). Charcoil is great, a good clay is also something you might look into, it sucks anything out when applied externally, active charcoil has to be in direct contact with the poison...

Posted using Partiko Android

Noooo why don't I carry clay around with me??? Lol I will have to start. I feel lucky I happened to have charcoal at least.

I really DO need to stop putting poison on my foot, though! ๐Ÿ˜†

Posted using Partiko iOS

Did the therapy work for you @nomadicsoul?

Yes!!!! I can't believe it worked @nainaztengra because seriously nothing has ever worked!!!! It's a miracle!

Actually, in the past, I've only used baking soda which helped control the swelling a little bit, but this was seriously magic!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

For a bee sting, first scrape the area with a knife to get the sting removed and then take an onion, cut it in half and rub on the area - it works very well.
If you have some bulbinella growing in the garden, you can rub on the gel from the leaves and it works wonders - but try the onion as most people have them in the home.

whoa, that's so interesting! I'll have to try that! Thanks for the advice! I'm allergic to bee stings also. Way worse than fire ants

Holy shit, you are having quite the week here....

yeah but black magic fixed it lol

@nomadicsoul hope your allergy is gone. :)

hey @dawnsheree things got a lil crazy, but so happy to see you back!! I've missed you!

Jesus Christ! When I saw the small photo I thought "what the heck, how did she manage to get that frost bite" \o\o\

hahaha because I'm talented!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16