Life on the road: an update

we'll its been a second dear steem family. I've been working a temporary job for a month and a half for 12+ hours a day and well I've been exhausted. I check on ya'll every now and then, resteem, get ideas, comment and generally learn lots from the community here- especially the homesteaders and plant people. I love that a space is getting carved out right now in the steem world for us.

AA9E7FDC3E4D4CF9BB808E0DE772CD9F.JPG

I'm currently in the midst of doing some major repairs and upgrades on my camper home. The recent rains have arrived to California, and I've experiences some major bummer leaks in my camper. Even after sealing it again this year, but alas, the cheap silicon sealing DOES NOT last, or hold up most of the time- the most recent sealing expeditions turned to cottage cheese in the latest rains.

14DFE192DB7340CD8FB393CCFA86FB4E.JPG

I'm installing a propane heater! Its in the mail right now. I know I've mentioned 'heat' as an issue for me. YEs, I am often really cold or really hot, living on the road. I'm doing my thing in my little camper despite the weather. I have an electric heater that I plug in when i'm on the grid, but otherwise, I'm all on solar, and electric heaters take too much electricity to work off of solar. This propane heater was a bit investment and the best and safest marine style heater to get, so I went for it. I think it will be best for my mental health in the long term. Even if I stop traveling for a bit, the heater is still a nice component to have in a rig that might even be occasionally used for travel. I'm hoping to do some high Sierra camping in winter and GO CROSS COUNTRY SKIING again. My favorite activity EVER. It's where I really get in the woods alone, do some major animal tracking and exercise going. I love love love it so much.

dec 2012 056.jpg

I was dating someone for 5 years that I am currently taking a break from and it has been incredibly hard and grief-strickin and it feels really lonely and isolating right now to not have the partnership that i've had. I have been such an Aquarian-wanderer that it was hard on the person I was dating to feel like they had any certainty in their life with me. I get it, and yet, I wish that this was 'okay' and that there was a way to make it work and make sense. I don't know what will happen.

12_HeatherPusey_KellyMoody_Dec2017.jpg

I'm working on smaller camper repairs like putting a covering on the drawers and cabinet floors that protects the wood, putting laquer and coating on interior and exterior wood to protect the surfaces, fixing broken things on the truck the camper sits on like a cracked rim and a spare tire hoist that is jammed, not to mention other electrical issues.....

this past month, while also working this temporary job, I finished writing my Juniper plant profile for my blog, of which ya'll got snippets of before I put it out there publicly. Whew! It was quite a feat. Can you believe that most humans in the northern hemisphere likely used Juniper historically? Different species grow everywhere!

With the rains starting in northern California, the grasses are coming back, the tiny Chickweed and Miner's Lettuce. It's a quiet time inbetween the brown of summer and the green of winter. Believe it or not, California winter is actually full of life.

I would have posted more photos in this little update but my photos either kept being sideways or steempeak was saying I was over my bandwidth. Not sure what that is all about. I would post more if I didn't run into things like this a lot! Being on the road makes it so that I have to use a wifi-hotspot I create from my phone a lot. Maybe it's that? Who knows.

I'll keep you updated, and this week I'm putting a new podcast out! I'll make sure to post about it and share on the Natural Medicine @naturalmedicine #naturalmedicine Discord Channel's Podcast section.

Happy day ya'll,

Kelly

naturalmediconsteem.jpeg

tribesteemupmemberbanner.jpg

Sort:  

Hi! You should get a small wood oven! It creates dry heat to keep your van from condensationg too much 😊 and wood is free like pallets to burn instead of buying gas ect.. Much more cosier also 🙂

Do you have sikaflex in the stores where you are?

Posted using Partiko Android

sikaflex- indeed we do. I bought this stuff at an RV place, much better than silicone, called Lap Sealant which is pretty much the same thing... still working on it right now... literally about to go out and finish scraping silicone off..

Well atleast the new stuff will now mostlikly last longer than the truck itself 😂 sikaflex is the stuff and worth that extra cost! Have fun tgere!

Posted using Partiko Android

indeed! still getting a lot of silicone off but did a bunch of repairs yesterday and today- had to get my camper back in place after a tree bumped the top and dented it a bit too. i've done so much silicone sanding and scraping this week I'm dreaming about it.....

Awesome story, I join you ❤

thank you! It's quite a ride.

It's nice to hear some details of the challenges of your mobile life. Thank you for sharing so openly some of your personal struggles and excitement. I think the work you are doing and planning on your home will be extremely rewarding. How great that you are able to do the work yourself that will be directly affecting your survival and comfort. Looking forward to learning about juniper from you and your next podcast!

Posted using Partiko Android

aw thanks! yeah it has been challenging to say the least. i feel my pocketbook draining but i see everyday the work i am doing to repair is helping.

I feel the struggles we go through in life only polishes us and prepares us for a better Us. I am sure everything will get alright with you soon. You should take it easy in these times and enjoy your job and steemit 💖💖

thanks! I should be steem posting all this- it's not very 'pretty' to show progress pictures but maybe it would be fun.

The comfort that warmth brings is so important, I bet you are going to feel much better when you have a reliable source of heat. I know for me, when I am cold (Which happens in our log house more often than I would like) I don't function as well and everything just seems a bit bleaker than it should.

Juniper is extraordinary, it was one of the first plants I learned to identify and work with. I love reading your plant profiles. My internet is horrible so I haven't been able to play your podcast but I do check out your website and love all that you share.

I got the heater! I just need to install it now. I am finishing sealing the camper first, and then on with the installation! running propane lines will be interesting.

hmm. I suppose that would be tricky and it will mean drilling some hole right? I hadn't considered that side of things. I am super happy for you though, you'll be all snug and warm. :)

yeah- i had to drill a big hole in the roof, and a few smaller ones in the inside of my camper to get the propane line from the area where the tank is to where the heater will be. where I have to put it means I have to run a long line.

Great to get a little update dear and glad to hear you’re doing well overall and getting some more warmth :) I’ll have visions of you cross country skiing in the high Sierra if that’s the route you choose! Much love 💙💙💙

Soon, I'll have that heater installed and be able to do some nordic skiing out of my camper... although i have a friend in Colorado trying to get me to come there and work at a nordic ski center with her!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71