Plant Walk #4: Borage, Piñon Pine, Wild Rice, Manzanita, plus some personal updates

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

I'm in the final days of a printmaking residency near Richmond, Virginia, and I am feeling bittersweet about it.

I am just getting into a groove of seeing some things really come to fruition, and yet I am also ready to be out of the city and on my family's farm for a week, outside all day.

I've been a little depressed here, I think in part because I don't have a home of my own, but I've been feeling a little down about myself and my work in the world and how to apply my knowledge and experience. Capitalism is weird, and 'selling myself' is not my forte. I do a podcast, write academic-style botanical articles on my blog (I don't repost them here cause that's not allowed!), send out packages called 'land capsules.' And honestly, I don't make any money doing this. If anything, I am breaking even.

I just want to offer this work to everyone for free, but I am not so good at 'receiving,' and when I try, I feel like I fall on deaf ears.

I have a patreon, and i have to step back sometimes and consider that having almost 50 supporters and getting almost $600 / month for my work on there is an achievement. (it's been about a year exactly since I launched it) It's weird how much $ patreon takes, and after processing fees, overhead for the land capsules, and the cost of paying my friend for the podcast, I might have $50 left over.

My philosophy is to keep going, keep doing it, cause I care, cause I have a grand vision for redrawing how collaboration and capitalism can work.

I WANT to share my unique experiences about plants, I WANT my friends to succeed, and I feature them in the podcast in order to give them an opportunity to speak their part, to have conversations about the things we're thinking about, about the work we do and why.

Today, I have a friend coming over who works for a non-profit, who is going to help me with my writing. She's very business oriented, and has a different perspective on communicating what you do. Some of what she will probably tell me I might find harsh or impersonal, or challenging my need to 'redraw' how it is done. It's always good to get different perspectives, and take when you will from them.

I love plants, I love talking to people about plants. I love gardening, growing things and experimenting with plants.

I have seriously been having major existential crisis' lately, maybe even for a few years now (Saturn Return will you be over already) about when and where I should be, and how to make a living in the structure of a world I don't agree with. I'm from the southeastern U.S., and when I am away, I miss the gritty culture, the swampy overgrown fields, the corner store, the old time music. When I am here (I'm here now), I think- wow... I feel like such an alien here in some ways. The antebellum culture of hyper binary gender norms (I don't want to wear pink and pearl necklaces, thank you very much), the overt racism (but it's everywhere), the gross cackle of white good ol' boys in suits running everything, polluting the water cause they don't want to pay taxes, the golf courses, the polo shirts, the silk covered chairs in screened in porches by the bar of whiskey.

With all of this, let's look at a few more plants, cause that's where my heart is, and that's what I love to share.

finaleditprint-106.jpg

Borage Borago officinalis (Boraginaceae)


I took this photo last month with a macro lens, on my DSLR, in the garden of my friends in Oregon. I've always loved how beautiful this plant is. Borage is related to Comfrey, which some folks might recognize, its a common planted herb in gardens in the U.S. and Europe, and has been a popular plant used for biodynamic agriculture practices as well as fodder for animals. Comfrey is used for wound and bone healing. There's concern about the presence of pyrrolizidine alkaloids in both Comfrey and Borage, which is a compound that can be harmful to the liver in large doses. I don't worry about them too much, as I don't take these herbs tonically, and I think if someone has a decently healthy liver than this isn't too much of a problem. Of course, legally if I were practicing herbalism, I would have to be careful about things like this. Of course, you can't really 'practice' in the United States anyway, at least not 'treat or cure.' That's a whole other conversation. Borage has a strong history of use historically in Europe, and has been brought over to the U.S. and planted in gardens.

While some folks see it as a good adrenal tonic, historically, it was used for sadness, depression, stagnation (as it also makes you sweat) and general fear. It is best used to lift the spirit. I suppose I could use some of this right now. It protects the heart in a spiritual and a physical way. The mind, body and spirit are not separate after all. Make an iced tea of it infused to cool off with an initial sweat (like cayenne does!) in the hot summer months.

IMG_2196.jpg

Piñon Pine Pinus monophylla (single needle) or edulis (two needles)

so I wrote a very large article on Piñon on my blog here: https://www.ofsedgeandsalt.com/blog/2017/10/8/nevada-pine-nut-harvest

But basically, it is an amazing tree. I know I have written a little on this tree here before, but I can't stop talking about it. Pine nut season is happening NOW, and I hope I can dip out to Nevada when I get back west and take a couple days to harvest. Most parts of the tree can be used medicinally. The needles are full of Vitamin C, and are a nourishing tonic. The sap is amazing for wounds (I put it in my bitters and my wound salve!). The nuts have tons of protein. I could go on and on. The tree is super important ecologically, too. The Piñon Juniper forest is pretty unique and grows in cold and warm deserts. I wrote in my article above a ton about how geologic history has affected where Piñon grows, how it grows and how it has formed different species and subspecies. Yes, I get geeky like that.

IMG_1574.JPG

Wild Rice. Zizania sp. (Poaceae)

I have harvested and processed wild rice to eat. The past couple years I have gotten close to, even to the point this year that I was AT the wild rice camp with all my friends in Idaho, but had to leave cause my friend I was traveling with had prior engagements. It has been one of my favorite activities. It grows wild in Minnesota, the upper midwest into Canada, some of New England, and in the south there was traditionally a different species of wild rice growing in the Chesapeake Bay and inland shallow fresh waterways even into Florida. I have friends who know what Wild Rice looks like and canoe a lot- that have spotted it. Wild Rice is super nutritious and is a staple food for native folks where it grows wild. In Idaho, the patch we harvest from was planted long ago, but its a neat plant- it reseeds itself, and when folks harvest it, you inadvertently reseed it because the knocking of ripe rice heads into the boat (this is how you collect) will always throw some out to the sides into the water.

IMG_2014.JPG

Manzanita Arctostaphylos spp. (Ericaceae)

Manzanita mainly grows on the west coast of the U.S. and into Mexico. It's in the Heath or Blueberry family, hence the similar looking flowers in the picture. The leaves can be used similarly to Blueberry leaf as a diuretic (makes you pee) especially good for UTI's. Where it grows, it is a common way to use it. The flowers are edible and great in pancakes or fried up. The berries are edible and make a substitute 'sugar.' It forms part of the 'chaparral' plant community along with Ceanothus, Mountain Mahogany and more. I might do a podcast episode just on this plant community at some point as I have a friend in California who is an expert on it.

That's all I'm gonna go into for now, gotta get into the print studio! I've got three days left. Thanks for reading about my life and my tidbits about plants.

naturalmediconsteem.jpeg

tribe-steemup-member-banner.jpg

Sort:  

hey kelly! love these plants. thanks for sharing.. and i totally hear you about having trouble receiving in exchange for things we create. i have a block toward that too, i think. i'm curious about what your friend tells you today! i have long been thinking i need to take a business course or something cuz that's just not where my head is at, but i think having more of an "impersonal" thought line toward it could be good. but also give yourself a pat on the back- 600$ a month on your patreon is a great success! it will likely only gain momentum.

i put a lot of stock into posting on steemit this year and currently the account isn't worth very much, but i always think if the price of steem goes up i will be able to sell some and essentially get paid pretty well for blogging on here. that is my hope anyway. i also hear you on the conflict of going back to your roots. oh god your description of the place is so spot on! phew! much love and enjoy the last few days of your residency.

i got some good advice today from my friends. first she said i need to make my plant profiles on my blog 'member only.' or accessible for patrons only. that's hard cause i want to make them free. I guess the archives can be member only but people publicly could read them for 30 days until the next comes out. I'm currently behind on them.

to stop using 'we' and use 'i' .... cause it's all about me.. and apparently women tend to use 'we' more instead of 'i' because we don't 'own' our work. interesting.

to declutter a few things on my webpage.

to make my patreon simpler.

to get a sponsor for my podcast...

to write for outside magazines (i do this a little)

to get on other podcasts.

whew! there was more... but that was a start.

oh yeah, and to sell archival prints of my photography! duh. i should have been doing this long ago. i bet you could do this too.

i did take a business class once when i lived in Asheville... it was about the numbers mostly, but i learned a lot. branding and delivery and the other nuances are a whole other thing.....

Wow, you know so much! I'd love to do a Vulcan Mind Meld on you one day! I admire you so much. Thanks for sharing your story! I will be reading anything you post! You are AWESOME! :)

thank you! I'm a geek, what can I say.

The antebellum culture of hyper binary gender norms (I don't want to wear pink and pearl necklaces, thank you very much), the overt racism (but it's everywhere), the gross cackle of white good ol' boys in suits running everything, polluting the water cause they don't want to pay taxes, the golf courses, the polo shirts, the silk covered chairs in screened in porches by the bar of whiskey.

You are a wonderful writer - this is so evocative. I'm going to listen to your podcast on teh way home - it's terrible I haven't yet, but I've been busy (not that that's an excuse either).

I do hope you find a balance between your passion and making some kind of living out of it. Everything I've seeen you produce is so beautiful and professional. I love this series - it's a really nice way to talk about what you are up to as well as the plants themselves. It's one of my favourite series on Steemit, so don't lose heart. You should definitely look at getting your podcasts up on here or perhaps Dtube.

Damn that Saturn Returns! And when you get over it and have a few good years it'll be something else. Take it from me. Life, huh? I feel your pain. Truly, I do. Lots of love.

What lens do you use? I really want a macro lens but they are so expensive. Either that or the steem price has to go up...

thank you! i have a lot of others kinds of writing posted on my blog including writing about the south.. and i wonder if people really know what i mean by 'the south' when they're from another country, like is it a very obvious culture that other folks in the world recognize? especially now with trump (dare i say his name) as president?

i had a business session with a friend yesterday and it helped to give me confidence to keep on keeping on. she told me i should make my plant profiles member only... hm..

i use all different lenses, an i use a 15 year old Canon Rebel XT camera... i can't remember the macro lens cause i was borrowing it from a friend who also uses Canon stuff. I use a telephoto sometimes, an all around shooter that has a nice range and a low f stop lens for portraits... can't remember all the numbers right this second. i edit in Adobe lightroom ..

Oh yes we do know because American films, literature and docos inform us muchly!! I've always been an avid reader can envisage it very clearly.

Oh gosh.. member only. I guess that's a good idea, tells viewers you have something special and worth subscribing to?

I have a SONY and the lens are amazing.. Dad sold it to me and he bought SUCH good kit!! But i still can't get macro enough and that borage! I have heard of Lightroom.. should give it a try. I am just 're learning after years not bothering. My sister is the photographer! It's such a beautiful art. I love your photos.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really got into gift economy (give your things as a gift and let the receiver decide what to give back) at some point after having troubles with "selling myself" too, and it made a lot of sense to me. but even so it's still hard and many people get freaked out about having to choose what to give back (so I don't do it as much anymore and just give a suggested price..)
As you know I follow you too on patreon and I always though, wow, you are SO active - I hardly ever post anything there (now I'm trying with weekly updates, mainly linking to what I do here!) - but I also only have 2 patron atm, so I don't feel so obliged...! But it's crazy to hear that you only have about 50$ left in the end! Then I almost feel lucky that I get 4$ a month for doing almost nothing...! But for me it's really often in the back of my head too, that I should do more, but luckily Iøve become better at that - at some point it was really much worse and very stressful. Then I decided to leave it all and just be a gardener and mother, which helped so much on my well being, but of course I could do it because I wasn't really dependant on the income and I'm super lucky to be able to live so low cost as I do...
Thanks for sharing your plants, so inspiring! You always share some things that I didn't know, and it's so great to get a wider understanding!

PS what do you mean that it's not allowed to share your posts from you blog here??

I try to be dedicated on patreon to following through with what i said i want offering in exchange. I am considering shifting it again and having it focus on the podcast. I;d love to have some membership format for my content that was simple and one price to just have access per month for ongoing artistic botanical content- interviews, photo diaries, maybe even small films one day. Lots of dreams.

As for the sharing blog post thing- i thought you couldn’t double share things? Like the plagiarism bot will come get ya? Even though it is my writing? It’s what @mountainjewel told me. Id have to rewrite things a different way i guess.

my experience is that as long as you state that its copied from another site and include the original link in the post, the bot leaves you alone. i reposted a couple of posts from the blog i had before steemit and the only time i got the cheetah bot was when i forgot to include the link in the post.

But there are so many cross-posting application that lets you post to steemit from several other places -like share2steem from instagram, twitter and forgot the last one, steempress that let's you cross post from wordpress and then I heard about the whaleshares cross posting too, and I'm sure there are more, so generally I don't think there is so much policy about it has to be only-on-steemit content, just that it is your own...

thanks for this, i'll look into share2steem and other apps.

oh wow.... then i could post a lot of stuff then. sometimes it's hard to fit in steem posts when i already have so many i need to do elsewhere, too. i know it's nice to cater it to the steem community, but it would be nice to share more from my work out there! to have to make up two separate posts seems daunting.

Congratulations @ofsedgeandsalt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25