A Cookbook and Resource Book All In One...

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

After @riverflows prompt to use the #FoodasMedicine tag (supported by @NaturalMedicine) plus her giving a hint that our favorite cookbooks could qualify for the Natural Medicine Book Challenge - Details found here, that was enough for me to pull out my cookbook I felt was perfect for this challenge -

Healing Herbs Cookbook

cover Healing Herbs Cookbook.JPG

Back Cover Healing Herbs Cookbook

back cover Healing Herbs Cookbook.JPG

This was another book I got when I attended the International Herb Conference, I wrote about the other books I got there in my previous entry for the Natural Medicine Book Challenge at https://steemit.com/naturalmedicine/@porters/the-one-book-i-will-not-let-leave-my-house .

While at the conference I attended a fabulous workshop with Pat Crocker on cooking with medicinal herbs. She is the woman who introduced me to making pestos from all different herbs instead of your standard basil pesto. In fact she includes numerous pesto recipes in her book including one using calendula, one using coriander, a lemon one, spinach one and one using roasted garlic and red pepper! In the workshop she did up a pesto which included about five different herbs - basil, rosemary, thyme, parsley and cilantro. I loved it and I continue to use those combinations to this day! She really boosted my enthusiasm for cooking with all different herbs and I so happy she had copies of her book at the Herb Conference so I got a copy which she so kindly autographed wishing me, Eat Well - Be Well!

My idea when I bought this book was to each day choose one of the many herbs that I was growing in the garden and try out a new recipe from the Healing Herbs Cookbook using that herb. It is easy to find recipes for each herb, as her book has a herb specific recipe index. I could also learn the beneficial qualities of that herb for she includes the medicinal properties of the different herbs too! And that's not all - she also shares a wealth of knowledge on preserving and cooking with herbs and includes some awesome tips!

Another special feature - the recipes are divided as per different seasons as you can see in a sample page from her book below:

Sample Recipe Pages From Healing Herb Cookbook

sample pages of Healing Herbs Cookbook.JPG

At the front of the book she put in herb profiles which list

  • Description
  • Flavor
  • Parts Used
  • How to Grow
  • Healing Properties including actions, uses, phytochemistry
  • Availability
  • How to use in cooking
  • Folklore

What follows this is a section on Cooking with Medicinal Herbs which includes:

  • The medicinal effect of herbs in cooking
  • Preserving herbs for cooking or medicinal use
  • How to dry herbs
  • Medicinal teas
  • Juices
  • Tinctures
  • Syrups
  • Crystallized roots
  • Vinegars
  • Oil
  • Soups
  • Seasoning
  • Wines
  • Healing Cooking
  • Legumes
  • Whole and ancient grains
  • Soy foods
  • Sprouts
  • Nuts and seeds

This book contains a wealth of information and some fabulous vegetarian recipes - 115 of them! I have got so much out of it and I'd recommend it to anyone who is interested in healthy eating!

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

Solid book review.

Namaste, JaiChai

What an amazing book @porters. This looks like a must have for the collection.

You’ve been visited by @trucklife-family on behalf of Natural Medicine!

What a wonderful book @porters. I am a huge fan of pestos and make it a lot using different plants as well, I have never done it with calendula though, one of my favourites is nettle and chickweed xx

This fortnight, we're having a challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes by sharing the books that have inspired or continue to inspire a healthy life for mind, body and spirit! Check out the details by clicking here!


NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you!

50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

M-m-m! I'll have to try the nettle and chickweed one for that is what is growing most abundantly here this year - get a bunch of it made up and put in the freezer for winter! Thanks for sharing that idea!

Amazing I am going to find this book and buy it 💯🐒

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

I got my first "not only basil" pesto idea from an article about her book! Yes, it's a super resource and such a great way to intensify nutrition and natural medicine in the diet. :) Funnily enough also what I wrote about today.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

H-m-m I wonder if it was my article I wrote about the different pestos inspired by Pat Crocker? I'm moving more and more in that direction of #foodasmedicine I'll have to go check out your post!

Great review, @porters. It reminds me that I really need to learn more about the natural healing properties of herbs and flowers. In my copious free time.... 😁

Wow, cool! Very interesting. I need to get my hands on that one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86