Natural Medicine & Ecotrain Collaborative WISDOM CHALLENGE on Alternative Consumer Habits - a Response...

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

Lovely to see @NaturalMedicine and @Ecotrain collaborating for bringing forward folk's bits of wisdom with their Alternative Consumer Challenge -details here They ask the question-

What alternative consumer habits do you have, or can you explore, that support your HEALTH and the planet you love?

Alternative Consumer Habits.jpg

My biggest thing that addresses this is to grow my own food in a sustainable fashion or ethically harvest from the wild.

Gardening not only can give you pesticide free and fresh, nutritious food but it is also good exercise and gets you more in tune with nature, also you will not be contributing to pollution by transporting your food from far away.

It can give you a real sense of food security to know how to grow your own food or know what is edible when out foraging.

If you are just starting to garden here's some Beginner's Gardening Tips (It was geared for children but is good for all beginner gardeners)-

Flip through the booklet at: https://sqribble.net/viewflipbook/9811/2258

text16.png

Next best thing is to buy direct from the producers, get to know your local farmers or go to the Farmers Markets.

Something to keep in mind when buying fresh produce is not to buy more than you can use.

Here's a handy list of some items with the length of time you can store them and where to store them whether in a cold room (c) or at room temperature (rt)

Fruits

Apples weeks C
Berries 3-5 days c note: diluted vinegar to prevent mold
Grapes 3-7 days c
Mellons 5-7 days c note: Ripen at room temperature.
Peaches 3-5 days c note: Ripen at room temperature.

Vegetables

Asparagus 1 week c note: stand in water
Basil 3-5 days rt note:Store in a dry bag, or stand in water
Beans 5-7 days c
Broccoli 3-7 days c
Brussel Sprouts weeks c note: Store off the stalk
Cabbage weeks c note: Remove wilted leafs
Cauliflower 3-7 days c
Celery weeks c
Cilantro 2-4 days c
Corn 3-6 days c note: Store with Husks on
Cucumbers 1 week c
Eggplant 3-5 days c
Leafy Greens 3-7 days c
Leeks weeks c
Onions month rt note: Store in the Dark
Parsley 1 week c
Peas 3-5 days c
Peppers 1 week c
Potatoes month rt note: Store in the dark
Root Crops weeks c note: Remove leaf tops
Summer Squash 5-7 days c
Ripe Tomatoes 3 days rt

text16.png

One product that I have stopped buying from the store is salad dress for I've found a super delicious and healthy alternative - Tahini Mayonnaise. I use this on all my salads and any where I would use mayonnaise.
I make this up in a mason jar and keep it in the fridge. No more salad dressing jars to throw out, I just keep reusing the mason jar.

Tahini Mayonnaise
Melt about 1 cup coconut oil and place it in a mason jar
Add about 1/4 cup tahini ( I just grind up sesame seed in a coffee grinder to replace the tahini which is basically the same thing)
1/2 tsp seasoning ( I use Braggs 24 herbs and spices blend )
1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
juice of 2 fresh lemons
a good splash of apple cider vineger
4-5 drop liquid Stevia

I'm not one for measuring so these amounts are just estimates. You can adjust them to your taste.

Blend together and it's ready to use. I store it in the fridge. When I'm ready to use it I place the jar in some hot water to melt the coconut oil which solidifies.

text16.png

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe & @earthtribe



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Growing your own good is a great alt consumer habit. That salad dressing sounds yum. You know, I have never in my life EVER bought a salt dressing? Ever! I always just knew how to make them. So many bought products are easily made at home. ~ @RIVERFLOWS

Huh - never bought salad dressing! Good on ya! It's so true that so many things can be made at home and now with it so hard to find unadulterated foods and the cost of things going up so much I'm turning more and more to making my own.

Excellent info.

I always buy from the local markets, not from supermarket chains.

Additionally, my gardening and mushroom cultivation hobbies present me many joyful hours of mindfulness time.

Namaste, JaiChai

Ah yes! I forgot to mention that

joyful hours of mindfulness time.

Which comes from gardening and growing or creating things!

This is seriously an A list strategy & great post, @porters - doesn't get much better for the planet PR for your health.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Seriously I never thought these can be made. " Tahini' is something I heard first time..need to look for it..

Posted using Partiko Android

Tahini can be a little expensive to buy but I just make my own by grinding up the sesame seeds in a coffee grinder. We buy the sesame seeds in bulk too.

Hey @porters,

You have been gifted an upvote and a resteem by the Mysteemversary bot in celebration of your steem account's birthday.

Your account is now 1 years old!

🎂 🎂 Happy Steemversary  🎂 🎂

Thanks for sticking around this long and believing in the future of this community.


My Steemversary is a smart bot that rewards active steemians on their account's anniversary. We use a bunch of tools to filter out inactive/blacklisted users and bots. Our goal is to gift these users a decent upvote. Please consider helping us grow by delegating to our bot [5SP10SP25SP50SP100SP500SP1000SPCustom Amount] or by simply upvoting this comment.

Congratulations @porters! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I don't like the salad dressing which are available on markets. You recipe sounds interesting. I don't get much time to create something special, I usually bought everything ready made! :(
Will try your recipe. Thanks for sharing.

I usually make a big jar of it and keep it in the fridge. It keeps very well and then you have it handy when you want it.

wow thats some really detailed useful info

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thanks so much and thanks so much for what you are doing!

Don't mention it! ;-)

You have given me a good idea. Years ago, I tried to make hummus. The recipe called for tahini, so I bought a jar of it at the market. It was so salty, the hummus was inedible and several attempts to fix it by adding more ingredients failed. I finally had to throw it out, and I hate wasting food! I wish I had thought of using my coffee grinder to grind up sesame seed, instead! If I ever try to make my own hummus again sometime, I will try that! 😃

Yes I buy the sesame seeds in bulk and grind them up for making hummus too. Way less expensive that way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05