Help Wanted No Experience Needed

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

might as well start smoking crack

check out your AQI
https://aqicn.org/city/kuala-lumpur/

We are in the thick of the "haze" season here in South East Asia and only a few places on Earth can lay claim to more poisonous air. Here you can have a look at the non western world's air quality. But, before you do here's an interesting factoid we all share the same air

Aside from a few one off spots that are likely experiencing localized wild fires such as the eastern coast of Australia, Northern California, the Amazon, and an off the charts reading in central Mexico I'd like you all to focus on the vast pockets of red.

The most affected area by far is China, which we can attribute to not only massive and densely populated cities that often contain 15-25 million air breathers, but also likely due to abysmal standards and regulations when it comes to pollution. In China, the situation seems to be year round, and I can only speculate that the newly returned to the ranks of super power isn't meeting the quality controls put into practice in the west. Who could know for sure though? It's not as if we non communists get to go inspect their factories and emissions testing.

The other major zone is where I reside in Malaysia which covers a vast area also covering Indonesian and affects at least a quarter billion people. Here we see the worst aspects of the economic pressures imposed on developing democratic nations by the consumers of the world. These SE Asian governments are either unable or unwilling to even attempt to create a budget to control their pollutants. The issue is exacerbated by economically disadvantaged citizens and a lack of awareness or education in regards to maintaining clean environments. We can easily see in the thick noxious air the impacts of a culture that is rightly too focused on putting food on the table and gas in the scooter to be bothered by responsible and sustainable lifestyles, that have no incentives or infrastructure to establish such a fantasy. In this part of the world the unfavorable and stagnant winds of the dry season only serve to temporarily expose a dreadful situation that is ongoing. While the air quality is not as bad during the windy wet seasons it's still very much hazardous and gets spread far and wide across the globe throughout the year.

Lastly we have another huge area of land also populated by hundreds of millions in the regions of Central to Northern India. The specifics of this area are beyond the scope of my attempt here to simply raise awareness, but it's safe to say a similar lack of funding and education are only part of the problem.

Apparently not reporting to this index is Russia which is the world's largest country with 6.6 millions sq. miles. This vast land mass is very sparsely populated and while one can guess Moscow and other cities contribute to the world's polluted air, in this brief expose they're getting off with an unknown data set.

I'm also not going to focus on the Americas, Africa, or the western world in general. The point of this article is to offer a dose of harsh realities to the developed nations that if they only focus their immsense wealth and abundance of resources on their own spaces they will be fully engaged in an act of futility. I realise this is where the matter at hand gets convoluted as well as personal. It's easy to say hey I recycle, my car passed emissions standards and my government is working towards sustainable solutions. Then the big fat greasy cheeseburger finger gets pointed at the poor developing nations to get their act together and be like us.

The problem is, that this isn't a localized issue, air just like our water is a shared resource and eventually this blame game will result in its not safe to go outside warnings all over the globe.

We have a major crisis at hand and it's high time we start seeing that we all must live together here. We as a global community are only as strong as our weakest link. I don't have an instant fix. I can however offer a glimpse into the specifics that perpetuate the air quality issue where I live and a way for you the reader to help fix the problem.

You will just have to stay tuned though and give me an inkling of hope that you are a concerned global citizen that wants to help by doing what they can. For today I'll just let everyone marinate on the article I've composed as I sit stuck indoors where I at least have some filtered and ionized air to breathe..

At the time of writing this an estimated 2 billion people are breathing air that is hazardous to health. They're earning significantly less than the rest of the world and charged with extra expenses like regular trips to the hospital to treat a child's asthma. Or ongoing ear nose and throat issues, it's also entirely possible the preponderance of autism, delayed learning, immune system diseases and cancer are further diminishing the quality of life in these polluted populations that struggle to make ends meet at the best of times.

Please don't think I'm being judgemental or giving anyone a pass. I'm also purposefully not getting into solutions on this post as I'd like to get some reactions and let that dictate where and how we proceed together. New steem can be more than a marketing tool, it can be a message of hope and a think tank for the visionaries of the world that seek to have active roles in solution based initiatives..
I want to edit in that Malaysia is trying to be an example to the rest of ASEA and there are initiatives and regulations in place. They are just behind the curve and need more support.

Help me help you

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Air quality and water - so intrinsic to life and yes, starting to be seriously polluted in so many parts of the world. We also have what is politely called "burning season" in Northern Thailand in March-April and yes, it's awful. Detox, travel if you can. We have - for the first time ever - got a huge bipartisan, multifaceted task force starting to work on air quality here. A small beginning.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Is it time to flag this into oblivion

Posted using Partiko Android

Why? It's a service for blind folx.

Oh, MFer. :/ Thanks for the info. I just thought it was a helpful bot.

No problem, steem scammers are sneaky and everywhere!

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That's a very complex topic. There's no doubt that the west is contributing to the toxic air quality in Asia. I mean we brought them all the plastic stuff. We just shipped everything there with no education or anything like that. No wonder the quality is worse in those countries. Usually, they lived a very organic life using banana leaves as plates, etc. I think governments are aware but just need more time to actually educate the people to make a difference. I can sense a slow adaptation of healthy behaviors. At least in India, where I lived. I don't know how it works in Malaysia, but I think it's kind of similar.

I hope the quality gets better for you soon! I guess right now is high season for bad air quality over there?

When I compare the air quality in Germany with India just by feeling, the quality here is 100x better. I feel like I can breathe "normally". I can take deep breaths!

Annotation 20190910 090127.png

Annotation 20190910 090143.png

Annotation 20190910 090156.png

Cities I live or lived in

It's indeed a very complex issue that desperately needs proper attention.

Plastics are a whole other mess I'm going to get into. I might end up trying to have daily themes, I've thought about it this before but was never motivated enough to follow through or have any discipline. Something like take out the trash Tuesdays.. I've been contemplating doing a big internet thing here that highlights local issues.. I of course will hide behind real Malaysian citizens, but it's getting to be too difficult to just accept that that's how things are..

As you are aware we need to blend the best aspects from east and west in all capacities and I'm in a unique position to act as a world Bridger. Steem being international is a great potential platform..

The air here will be pure shit throughout the month of September mist likely. What's incredible is that nobody changes their lifestyles here. It's complicated though, but what really chaps my ass is that the locals also pass the blame and say its the bloody Indonesians. Well yes, but it's also your burning trash, not car pooling, allowing all sorts of nonsense on the roads and generally trashy behaviors..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, steem is indeed a very good platform for that. Sounds like a pretty good idea with the trash theme that highlights these concerns. People burning shit is a pretty common scene in Asia. I guess everyone plays a role in this dilemma.

hi @skramatters

how long have you been already in SE Asia? Haze in Kuala Lumpur is a distaster. So unhealthy ...

And indeed in china indeed you never see blue sky :/

One day hopefully goverments will figure out that fighting with pollution is a great business. Which will allow them to create more wealth (more debts and more printed money).

Cheers
Piotr

Thanks for dropping in @crypto.piotr I'm sure you're enjoying the fresher air in Europe after having your fill of KL haze..

The cast of characters responsible for this disaster is long and sorted. We can all improve and become more aware of how we can curb the corruption between governments and the private sector. Lobbyists and cronyism have created a foolish game of profits above all else and we are all suffering for it..

I'm on year 3 in SE Asia and have only had a few breaths of fresh air while island hopping.. Coastal breezes and naturally ionized air make me feel healthy and alive, but it's only temporary holiday that are all too rare.

Posted using Partiko Android

my car passed emissions standards

#dieselgate! The west is probably not that far off and probably shares a bit of the responsibility in the air everywhere. Especially that guy from Volkswagen.. I'm not an eco-activist really, I care but don't take as much initiative as I should about it, however hearing about this scandal below has made me feel ill and I can't stop thinking about how evil it was.

Volkswagen Emissions Scandal

Why it still haunts them Today

I very nearly brought this exact situation up! Sure everyone shares the responsibility and that's exactly what I will get into with part 2 here that explains part of the Malaysian situation...

It is not about being more eco friendly or going green, it's a paradigm shift that is coming. Of course trying to be an eco warrior is fine but I'll explain how often times the consumer that's trying to do the right thing is unknowingly doing the wrong thing. And of course the VW shitheads are really the most despicable players..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @kharma.scribbles.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

It SOOOO makes difference!!!!!

I know how I feel when I leave the city and spend a bit of time along the coast, or in the countryside. I also notice the difference when I practice Tai Chi or Qigong in the city v. the country.... anyone who says it doesn't has no self-awareness!!

Not to mention the fact of simple bio-chemistry!!! That ain't just oxygen we're breathing.

When we went to Japan earlier in the year, we had a stopover in Manila... oh man.... humid climate and pollution was an interesting mix.

Denver got into the 150s earlier this summer, but right now we're at 64, so like ...yay, I guess. :/ When it gets up there I feel like my chest is going to cave in and I have difficulty breathing. I have a vogmask on my wish list. It's madness.
But goodness no we can't do shit about fracking (the boom in fracking here is the reason for the return of The Brown Cloud), since, you know, they own this fucking state. Grr.

Wow that's a lot to think about, excellent write up. You are absolutely right about shared resources like air and water. It's not something I had given much thought about until last summer when we got engulfed in severe smoke advisories for most of the summer because of wildfires. It's a basic resource that many of us take for granted.

With all of the manufacturing moving over to Asia has unbalanced the delicate resources. Part of it, yes, lack of regulations but many here in the west view it as if it's not in their backyard, they are not responsible even tho they are the buyers that it is created for. I'm not suggesting we return to caveman times but if people in the west considered the human cost along with the financial cost, they might rethink some consumer habits. I'm not perfect but I always analyze my consumer habits and trim the fat a little at a time. A global effort would go a long way into reducing our footprint by eliminating a few unnecessary things. In turn, that would improve the quality of life for many across the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85