The All Powerful Indian Gooseberry

tastes like geese

I'm not going to sugarcoat this one and tell you it's delicious. It's both bitter and sour and devoid of any sweetness. It will make your face contort into a caricature that could stop traffic. There is also a mild tannin like quality that will leave you parched and looking for anything wet. Well, not anything..

Perhaps, I've been a bit harsh, as it has grown on me over the past few days going from wholly intolerable to intriguing. It's remarkable it's not poisonous. I can admit amla is an acquired taste and being that my father in law was popping em like cherries, I had to step up.

I always make an ass of myself when I cave into food machismo..This wasn't nearly as bad as that time I ate balut though.. I do rather like the novelty of gooseberries now, akin to the way one enjoys atomic sour candy.

Lets be honest, most all good medicine is bitter. That's how we know it's working 😂 I wasn't exactly aware of the full range of benefits from this staple of ayurvedic medicine so I got to researching.. Amla or amalaka as its known in sanskrit can be found appearing in various Hindu and Buddhist sacred texts. This gift has been used medicinally for thousands of years for a wide range of treatments.. There's not much it can't do, and including it in one's diet is definitely not going to hurt anyone..

i love etymology
https://www.wisdomlib.org/definition/amalaka

Here in SE Asia there are many different amla powders and drinks widely available. No store or cash needed here though, I was able to easily pluck these eye level berries during a neighborhood stroll.. I'm told they can be candied or made into a jam which is more palatable than eating them raw but I'm sure this also destroys most of the good stuff..

I've included a very heady scientific study of the Indian gooseberries and it's antimicrobial and antioxidant properties as well as a more generalized basic breakdown.

big word data
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0023643807002745

I'm half tempted to try to make a jam but I'm just going to continue my get well regimen.. I just found an easy peasy idea I can pull off but I'll save it for another post for another day when I feel like making gooseberry grub.. Duck duck gooseberry!!

Amla relish

Sort:  

I've only eaten them dried like raisins, mostly in oatmeal with cinnamon and honey added.

Oh that's interesting, must be available in health food type stores? I might put some out in the sun, maybe that would bring out the sugars.. I do love my honey, cinnamon, raisin oatmeal.. One of my staples for sure...

Stay healthy @angryman

Something comes to mind, I was once suffering from what I think was sciatica and it was really debilitating at a time when I needed to be doing physical labor. Anyway, some grown man shhhsshd me during our morning brainstorming session and told me not to interrupt him he was the boss here. Trouble is I was hired as the consultant and this guy didn't know shit, so I was ear burning angry. I looked at my mutual friend and he knew full well I was in strike mode so nodded for me to go take 5.

I did and as the rage ran through my body the nerve pain vanished and I was in prime condition to kick ass.. Cooler heads prevailed but my point is, every emotion has it purpose if utilised appropriately.. I am proof positive being enraged and not reactionary was the catalyst for an instant realignment..

Posted using Partiko Android

Can you give us a selfie of when you're face contorts eating these berries 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

I love gooseberry...the sweet ones lol We had a lot in our backyard while living in Europe.

You are in SEA? Hmmm I wonder if I know these Indian gooseberry then.

Maybe make a chutney?

Yea chutney would work, they can be boiled and sweetened add vinegar, very nice...

I'm sure they're in Indonesia as well, there are a few varieties, this one here is not sweet at all...

Here in Venezuela there is a very similar fruit, but when ripe is red, is bittersweet, although sometimes it feels sweet. It also has a high vitamin C content. It could be a distant cousin.

Source:https://www.dieti-natura.es/plantas-y-activos/acerola.html

Ahh yes the Barbados cherry 🍒 i have only seen it sold in the west as a very expensive juice.. Been ages since I've seen them. That would probably grow very well here, thanks for the reminder. I'm going to see if I can find some..

I also really miss yerba mate, that's by far my preferred energy drink of choice.. Bloody expensive here but Its such a smoother caffeine compared to coffee..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77