U R What U Think 🤔

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

I decided to play vegan the last couple of days and I actually feel great. I'm riding a very positive vibration that's undeniable so get livened up with me and don't be no drag..

I don't think I'd ever commit to any specific diet as I'm all about finding the sweet spot in life. Philosophically I try to not box anything into categories of good and bad. Every moment presents an opportunity to find and maintain a balance. Discussions about food choices tend to get quite heated and it's understandable as there's moral and ethical issues that can make dietary centrism a tightrope to walk. I'm not at all trying to go there and will steer clear of any potential triggers.

We have probably all heard the phrase "you are what you eat" our entire lives. I tend to believe a more accurate statement would be "you are what you think" thus I make an effort to not judge people that are also merely trying to reach homeostasis.

I've been off my game due to a persistent bout of man flu that lasted over a week. I finally started feeling back to my middle aged self yesterday and usually that means I'd feel inclined to grab a few Friday beers and eat some fried rice or other glutenous gluttonous garbage. I never got that urge and also realised I haven't had a beer in over two weeks! I wanted to keep the momentum going and see where some lifestyle changes might take me.

I've joined up with the lovely @naturalmedicine steemians and have enjoyed a resurgence of responsible alternatives to the all too familiar sedentary and synthetic trappings that have been weighing me down. I realise my metabolism has slowed and as I approach 38 next month it's time to make an effort to treat myself better. I've developed a bit of a gut and while I'm not body shaming anyone or myself, I just don't like how it feels to be off center. I'm not looking to have a 6 pack or anything but the mini keg is not for me. My wife loves my dad body love her heart, but I see it as a slippery slope. Plus, as an American abroad I'd like to break the rotund McDonald's chowing down stereotype that's absolutely well deserved.

So, I've been limiting my coffee to one cup, and only a spot of milk. I've cut out any sugar drinks and opted for a squeeze of lemon and apple cider vinegar. Today I went full on and ate only vegan foods. The picture was part of my lunch I had after an 18 hour intermittent fast. It was a delicious homemade slaw combining cabbage and guava of all things. The dressing was simply sesame oil, ginger, lemon zest, tomatoes and black pepper. Not pictured I ate some yams and Jack fruit seeds with a dash of salt. If you haven't had Jack fruit seeds softened by either boiling or tossing in a pressure cooker you're really missing out on a unique and healthy treat.

After this meal I felt like singing and playing guitar which is rare. I then did some spotify inspired dance/yoga/stretching. This was followed up by an extended meditation that rivaled any of the many psychedelic fueled realignments I've had. I felt energetic yet tranquil and time just kind of ceased to be a thing. Only the rising and falling of my beer belly was observed. I became aware AGAIN that I'd been taught these various breathing techniques whilst on dmt but had never previously been able to get there while sober.

It's getting late and I'm still awake due to the micro nap I took this afternoon. I am feeling fantastic and noticed a great deal of synchronicity thats beyond the scope of this atypical post. Notice I've not ranted or cursed once 😂 If you read this, you're awesome and I thank you. I truly want you the reader to be inspired to live a joyful, no judgement, serenity now kinda life. I'm going to get some rest so I can get up with the sun to do some long overdue gardening. Then Sunday I'm headed to the jungle to wash away the remnants of any lingering concrete jungle afflictions..

Stay golden and I look forward to sharing more holistically focused posts with you all in the future.

En lak'ech 🙏💜🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

LOL,

Let's see how long this lasts! I love my meat way too much to even think about giving it up for a couple of days! If it's available I'm eating it! Have Fun at the Jungle! & Pleasant Weekend Ahead xo :)

Lmao I appreciate your sincerity and take that as a sign you’ve read enough of my previous content 😂

I do love me some meat especially bacon. I passed on some amazing looking wild boar curry this evening and made minestrone soup instead. But, you’re absolutely right that this might not last ! Thanks for weekend well wishes and all the best to you you carnivorous content creator you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hope you can shrink the belly I need to do the same as I have been less active through winter and not eating the best does not help.

Posted using Partiko Android

Not only is this very funny Only the rising and falling of my beer belly was observed
it has inspired me to live a joyful, no judgement, serenity now kinda life
Really fabulous read. Thanks!

OH YOU'RE BRAVE! I LOVE MEAT. I mean i eat meat twice a week maybe. but I don't know if I could say no completely! good luck!

Good luck on your new healthy style @skramatters.. practice made perfect😉 just be careful when you enjoy your day at the jungle, if you find a creek and the fish are there... make sure your vegetarian side not suddenly shows up, LOL. Aahh.. you don't like fishing, I think.

I root you my friend.. to have a healthy life and enjoy whatever you can😉. Coffee and cigarettes still my best friend, no matter how delicious the meals that served by my wife... she keeps wishing to see me having one pack only 😂

I am feeling fantastic and noticed a great deal of synchronicity thats beyond the scope of this atypical post. Notice I've not ranted or cursed once 😂

¿¡W00T?! ..all that vegan banquet and no dessert or refreshing 'Ice Cream' at the end? C'mon! @skramatters.. I don't recognize you.

Only the rising and falling of my beer belly was observed.

Oh! ah! now, I understand why... :p

Well I might have forgotten to mention the kaya bun I ate 🤔 One must take precautions when making such drastic non hedonistic lifestyle changes..

Posted using Partiko Android

I try to not box anything into categories of good and bad

is a great philosophy

Hope you feel great on your new-found food path. I listened to a Sadhguru Youtube clip about food last night. He does talk a lot of sense.

I suppose this is what happens when I spend most of the week ranting about football on Sportstalk and miss all the posts here!

However, my soul is refreshed after dropping hundreds of flags on assorted Sports spammers with my decent sized Stake there. It has given me renewed vigour and an enormous sense of well being.

I hope to see you on there soon as I am sure your new-found zest for health will manifest itself in an exercise and fitness program too.

Approaching 40.....hmmmmmmmm how much is a Porsche in Malaysia?

Porsche shmorse 😂 I'll keep my perfectly planned obsolescence Nissan through the crisis !

Flagging sports spammers does sound satisfying indeed. I need to get sporty myself. As a kid I wanted to be a sports writer now I can pretend to be one. I've got some ideas bouncing around..

I've not heard sadhguru say anything that I couldn't nod in agreement to. I'd like to shoot the shit with him compare and contrast our baba approach..Steem is like my guru grooming testing centre.. I'll be offering energetically charged universal soul alignments for some token soon enough..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I've been listening to him for a while now. He just comes over as such as nice guy and similar to high-end monks I've chatted to. They have a scientific..or at least true reason for everything they say or claim.

In the Abrahamic religions, it always ends up with 'because God says so' or 'because its Gods will' but debate in the Hindu, Buddhist philosophies NEVER end up this way.

Perhaps you're finally settling into a niche which is cool......but have a rant occasionally please!

I'm not missing the God says folks that's for sure.. And to cross comment on our multiple choice content I'll say in jest it's God's will that I keep to my ranting roots.. Not the cool rational God, the I said so wrathful one, that makes poor products and then acts like a petulant child and smites them.. The talking snake tells me to steem on...

Posted using Partiko Android

I try to not box anything into categories of good and bad

is a great philosophy

Hope you feel great on your new-found food path. I listened to a Sadhguru Youtube clip about food last night. He does talk a lot of sense.

I suppose this is what happens when I spend most of the week ranting about football on Sportstalk and miss all the posts here!

However, my soul is refreshed after dropping hundreds of flags on assorted Sports spammers with my decent sized Stake there. It has given me renewed vigour and an enormous sense of well being.

I hope to see you on there soon as I am sure your new-found zest for health will manifest itself in an exercise and fitness program too.

Approaching 40.....hmmmmmmmm how much is a Porsche in Malaysia?

As always mate. Great writing! You have a brilliant weekend :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80