USNEA update: Medicine in your Backyard (IT WORKS!)

Good morning all! I know everyone has been holding their breath, waiting for an update on how USNEA works for us!


In case you missed the first post...

I'll have you know that usnea has earned its way onto our permanent 'home remedy' shelf.


Usnea applesauce.... Mmmmm... Don't worry, it tastes better than it looks!
P1080494.JPG

When I posted about usnea a couple of months ago, I had not really used it much. Actually, at all.


Everyone asked, 'please, SquishySquid, update us when you use the stuff!!' Well, here we are, two months later, and we have all used it! Now, I have not yet tried it as a topical for injuries, since I have a salve made for that already, but we have used it INTERNALLY to prevent and cure illness, and it DOES work! Over the past couple of months, whenever we feel germs coming one, we take some usnea, usually mixed into honey or applesauce, and it makes the blech go away! Now, I am not going to throw out my other remedies or anything, I like to have multiple things on hand, but usnea has proven itself to me, and the rest of my family, for that matter. Whenever my husband feels a cold coming on, he asked me to give him some usnea. Actually, he asks for 'that weird green stuff', but, you know, THAT is the stuff he wants because he can feel the difference.

It kills the germs, folks, and I am happy to recommend it to you all!


P1070850.jpg

So, how about it folks? Ready to try looking around for usnea, aka Old Man's Beard lichen? Free medicine, in your backyard!

In case you would like to see a video of usnea collection, and listen to me yakking about what I do with it, here you go:



page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for stopping by!! Let me know if you have ever tried usnea, or let us all know what home remedies you all enjoy utilizing!



page-break-1024x256.png

Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Hi. I am part of a project to increase the number of Steem minnows (over 500 SP). We see you are really close and are wondering if you would like some support. All you have to do is make a post saying you are interested in growing your account and not powering down in the short term. We would prefer that you did not buy votes on the post, but then you will earn something anyway.

You can use the tag #TenKMinnows to show you are part of it. The aim is to get to 10,000 and we are stuck around 9,200 for now. This is a free service to make Steem better. Just ask if you have questions.

@enchantedspirit also recommended you, you can thank her later!

Oh neat, thanks!
Ill have to make a post later. I appreciate the support!

Look forward to seeing it. The ones that have responded have had some very nice votes so far. We have some big lads supporting us. Hope we can get you over that 500SP. Please tag me so I dont miss it.

Thanks for that update, I'll watch that video and then check over at my father in law's place has he has a bunch old live oak trees on his place.
It sounds really promising.

If he has a bunch of old oaks, I bet he has plenty of this stuff!

Wow ! This is super cool stuff. Thanks for sharing

Thanks! I thought it was cool too! :D

Huh! I never heard of this one before!

Haha, me either until I stumbled across it somewhere... Im so glad I did!

That is so cool!!! I didn't know it had these POWERS... thanks sooo much for sharing!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha its a super power lichen!! :D
Great stuff!

I have never heard of it but sounds very useful to have I must watch out for it

Yep, free medicine, cant beat that! ;)

Indeed free is always good

Don't worry, it tastes better than it looks!

God, I hope so!!

LOL!
It doesnt really taste like anything, so you have the flavor of whatever you mix it into. ;)

I am quite sure I have seen this growing in our woods! I will have to look more closely if/when spring ever arrives.

I bet you have, it is everywhere!!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 419 (03/05/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85