Looking ahead to a 2019

Each New Year bring this song's lyrics to mind:

Is this the New Year or just another night?
Is this the new fear or just another fright?
Is this the new tear or just another desperation?"
Switchfoot - The Blues

I have this deep fear about setting goals, getting amped about dreams, new beginnings, resolutions... Even as I sit, filled with hope and excitement, writing down my list of things to accomplish in this New Year, there is this feeling deep inside that it's just never gonna happen. I'm never going to muster up the self-discipline to see plans through. I'm never going to sacrifice the easy life for the meaningful, challenging, and world-changing life.

My father confronted me many years ago, asking me if I have ever tried my best. And the honest answer, even now 11 or 12 years later, is no. I have never pushed myself to the edge of me. I have never given my all and poured myself out. I stop just short. In everything. Like there is this rope tied around me, keeping me from getting outside the comfort zone, from getting to the best.
rad_example.gif
This is how I see it. The rope is fixed in the center of the circle. I can travel to the edges and circumnavigate that whole thing. It's nice and spacious. It gives the impression that I have gone far.

So that's where the song lyrics come in. Asking the whole time, is this time going to be for real? Am I going to be able to achieve what I set out to do?? To change? to grow? "Is this the New Year, or just another night?"

With all that acknowledged finally, I am going to do it. I am going to make a list (and this time it's public) of what I will achieve in this New Year. This new season... This is my time. I think I know it somehow.


2019 DREAMS

- Present free classes on general health, pregnancy, birth and parenting

The location will probably be at my church, since it has a good amount of comfortable seating and is at a central point in town. It will be free for all who attend, and I will post the contents of the class on Steemit (and link the Steemit article to my facebook account) after the presentation takes place.

- Take a course in herbalism

I am so desperate to know more about herbs! I hope to find a foraging expert in my area who can help me with plant identification. I want to learn about tinctures, decoctions, infusions and pretty much everything!

- Build up a natural healing cabinet

Like people usually have a medicine cabinet with Panado for headaches and Bactroban for wounds, I want to have a natural version for every problem we could come across at home!

- Reduce, reuse, recycle

I have a good compost heap already, but now I need to get our household living a waste-free life. We have a few recycling drop-offs in town that I can make use of, so I just need to get into the swing of sorting our waste. The non-recyclable items I want to use to make ecobricks. I plan to use the ecobricks to make raised garden beds.
17349996_1135312493244878_431733379129015398_o.jpg
17342865_1135312486578212_6216269997661251871_n.jpg
Images from EcoBrick Exchange

- Eat real food

I only want to eat food that will nourish, protect and build up my body. No compromising. Not even when we are visiting family that don't eat like us. It will take a lot of planning and determination, especially to find the best sources of animal and plant products.

- Grow food and herbs

I so badly want to grow all our (non-animal based) food and herbs in my own garden. That way I can know for sure that no pesticides are used, and that everything is picked when it's at its best. I have a fig tree, apple tree and pomegranate tree. I have delicious strawberries, nastergal (nightshade), swiss chard, piquant peppers, tomatoes, numex twilight chillies, mint, wormwood, lemongrass, chia plants, lamb's ear, aloe vera, purslane, amaranth, sweet corn and strawberry popcorn!
47571662_10157128495392868_6838918833927880704_n.jpg
Photo by my sister at Living Mountain Photography.
This is my feverfew plant. It propogates so easily!

Other goals:

  • Get fit and strong
  • Read at least one book per month
  • Learn a new language (Setswana)
  • Building and strengthening relationships (with God, family and friends)
  • Communicate more effectively and clearly

I am going to give my all to live a life that is meaningful, and not get held back and tied down!

Thanks for reading! I want to post this as part of NATURAL MEDICINE NEW YEAR CHALLENGE: What's Your Healing Resolution?
https://steemit.com/naturalmedicine/@naturalmedicine/natural-medicine-new-year-challenge-what-s-your-healing-resolution?sort=new

Sort:  

Those are wonderful goals and I wish you all the best in achieving them all! You can do it, just believe in yourself more and never stop loving yourself.

Yes!

See, that's how you make resolutions! My view on resolutions is make huge ones. That way, if you drop the ball on a couple, you'll still be killing it. I love it.

these are all wonderful goals to have, I love you idea for educating your community on birth and health, that is so important. definitely find your local herbalist and ask them to teach or guide you, a good start is to actually get out there and sit with some plants, it's amazing the energy we can feel off them sometimes. So many great ones, I am also making plastic eco bricks but for a community kids space. wishing you lots of learning and a year of abundance xx

Congratulations @vanessamidwife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The Goals set are really very meaningful. I wish you good luck and success in achieving your goals

That is an impressive list, though do-able. My resolution has been the same for a number of years now.... not to make resolutions. 😎

Wishing you every success!

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28