Photos: This week on the Homestead (did you know you can eat Basil seeds?)

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

Oh my, I had a glitch with steempress and wordpress and seriously when you have the flu ... it's best to not do anything that can't be undone (such as a post on steemit). I ended up with a duplicate post so to remedy that here are some photos from this week on the homestead. Please don't upvote this - just enjoy.

We have new lavender dream pillows for sale in our Homesteaders Co-op store! If you haven't browsed the stores and wares at the co-op you should. There's a lot of beautiful items made by dedicated steemians.

IMG_4008_01.jpg

I soaked and then ate basil seeds this week. When soaked, basil seeds get a gelatinous coating on them. They are tasty, nutrient dense and oh so good for you! Look up sabja seeds to learn more! I wanted to write a post on it but being under the weather has me off my writing game. Here's an article to get you started.

IMG_4041.jpg

I cleaned my kitchen and then photographed it...as evidence.

IMG_4088.jpg

I bought a basil plant from the grocery store because I had basil on my mind. Have you entered the @naturalmedecine contest yet? This plant is probably non-heirloom, and maybe not even grown organically but you know what ... I don't care. Today I needed a pick me up and this plant did just that.

IMG_4178.jpg

I also bought doughnuts because my husband asked me to get some. I went to Tim Hortons a place I usually avoid. We don't usually buy stuff like this and after eating one we found them sickly sweet. I gave the pink sprinkled one to the chickens and they LOVED it. We do not usually feed them things like this either but heck, winter has been BRUTAL. They deserve a pink sprinkled doughnut.

IMG_4199.jpg

We are still snowed in and it is still winter.

IMG_3970.jpg

Yep, this is my new mode of transportation. If you are cool climate homesteading you need em.

IMG_3974.jpg

Apologies for the post mixup!

Sort:  

You've been visited by @riveflows on behalf Natural Medicine.

Stop it, stop it, stop it. Your kitchen kills me. I want to teleport there now and drink wine and dance around in the snow.


NM GEN 2.jpg

20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

If you'd like to support Natural Medicine on the Steem Blockchain, please join us on Discord, or delegate by clicking any of the links above! We're all about supporting those who write about natural healing, from herbs to yoga to being part of the natural world! Come join us!

well, you better hurry up and get here! It's only 25 kazillion bazillion miles away. It is SO unfair that we live so far apart.

Love the pitcher the basil was in! So sorry to hear you got the flu. :(( Definitely not fun. :((

Love photos of your kitchen. :)) What did you use for flooring? Do you like it? Pros? Cons? Would you use something different if you were to do it over?

I am looking at flooring for the additions, so would love input...

Hope you are over the flu real fast!

Hey @goldenoakfarms. Our floors are slate. They are gorgeous and durable but they are so hard to stand on all day long, something that I do a lot of. I have anti fatigue mats to stand on and that helps. I am not sure what else we would choose to be honest. With two dogs our floor is easy to clean and don't scratch up as wood does ...plus our house is all wood so the contrast is important. Thanks for the well wishes, I am feeling a lot better today.

oh and how exciting about new flooring for your addition. I suppose it depends on how long you'll stand on it and what you'll use the room for. Wood does tend to scratch and needs refinishing. Slate has been zero maintenance at all. The floor is 15 years old now and looks great after I sweep up the white husky fur (Molly is shedding like mad right now).

This is good to know about slate. I wanted to use some, but it seems it's not a favorite of my husband's...

I know about the fur, but on a much smaller scale. our 18 yr old arthritic cat is shedding, and I am after her with brushes all the time, so she won't mat up. She's a short hair but the arthritis keeps her from grooming well...

Basil seeds are a common addition-flavouring to herbal drinks - often seen here in Northern Thailand at the supermarket in the fridge of the ready-to-go section. 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to sample some food in Northern Thailand, especially some fresh fruit. This time of year has me missing the freshness of our garden. I am a little bit envious of your climate.

Here in Canada, eating basil seeds is not a well-known thing at all. I could only wish it was a common thing to find. Small towns are really limited on the health food front - Kombucha is just starting to get stocked at the supermarket. We are waaay behind. From the handful that I ate, basil seeds look and taste quite a bit like soaked chia seeds (which I can get) so I'll have to compare the nutritional values.

I have long wanted to ask, for heating a house, do you use this wood stove in the kitchen?

My wife is delighted with your kitchen and asks me to do the same for her :)

Hello @astrizak, we often heat our house with our wood stove, we don't have a huge house and it does a great job of keeping us warm through many months of the year. We could use it as our only heat source if we needed to. That said, in the coldest months when we hit -30C at night we do feel the chill in certain areas of the house. We live in a log house so the cold tends to creep in through the walls after a while.

On really cold days or when we have to be away for the day, we have an outdoor wood furnace that we use. The furnace is handy because you can fill it right up and it will keep the house warm for many hours without having to tend it. We like having a backup heat source so if one fails we have another option. In colder climates, this is very reassuring.

I hope that helps. My husband is the heat guy so if you have any other questions feel free to message me on Discord and I'll get him to respond to you.

Thanks for the detailed answer

Some Vietnamese desserts use soaked Basil seeds. The basic one add the seeds to water and add sugar and enjoy the drink. You can add some Grass Jelly too. You get the same effects with Chia seeds

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for affirming that chia seeds will work as well. I was looking at some recipes and I am eager to give it a try, the drinks look so beautiful! I would love to try grass jelly, that sounds intriguing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79