3 Waters I Love

in #nature5 years ago

Light hearted post for the evening. Too much seriousness happening around me, need to chill a bit, so here goes :)



3 Of My Favourite Water Bodies In England

Spoiler, the list doesn't include the River Thames. These are not the best, they're just my favourite based on how much time I seem to spend around them. I'm sure if I were to venture north of the M25 more regularly, these will fall straight off the list.

Favourite Pond/Lake
JPEG image-D3610CC759E7-1.jpeg

Boating Lake at Alexander Palace is (wo)man-made, but it's been there for so long that parts of it have started looking natural. You can hire a little canoe, or a pedal boat shaped like a swan or dragon to spend time on the water. If it's not very packed, the experience is actually very nice. I also like the Lake Side Cafe, which has a generous outdoor area. It's splendid in summer. I think because there are always a lot of little children there, as the place is popular with families, there is minimal smoking going by the alfresco folk. Praise be.


Favourite River/Stream
JPEG image-D3610CC759E7-3.jpeg

River Lea at Hackney Wick is actually a canal section of the actual river - which is the smaller, lesser known river in London. This part of it in east London is just terribly cool. Even thought the area is changing very fast, it still has so much charm, and is home to one of the largest concentrations of artsy fartsy people on the planet. I have shot many videos in this neighbourhood, which is no surprise as there are unlimited photographic opportunities there. The choice of coffee there is also vast as you can imagine. Having said that, my previous favourite place called [Space], no longer serves coffee!


Favourite Seaside
JPEG image-D3610CC759E7-2.jpeg

Broadstairs at Thanet, Kent, is my favourite place to go when I need some time outside London mainly in summer time. I love the entire Kent coast, but there's something about Thanet. It may be because I used to live in Canterbury I have some nostalgic feelings for the region. It does get really busy in summer as it's less than 2 hours from central London by road, and even faster by train. It doesn't, however, get anywhere as rowdy as, say, Brighton or Bournemouth.


So there you have it, my three places to be around water without having to leave this island. There are others that may even better within London - especially ponds and lakes, but I don't spend time at any of them. Examples are the lake in Epping Forrest, Laytontone area, the one at Hampstead Heath and The Serpentine in Hyde Park.

So what are yours then?



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Awesome idea Ade. I love bodies of water (almost as much as trees ;) The Boating Lake at Alexander Palace looks very relaxing. I have many favorite lakes, ponds and rivers in and around my Czech hometown but let me show you just one - the Silver Lake. Here is a couple of shots I took there last summer.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmjGJwbCZ9TvP9mwEWM5PoWWQCAqWjCQrEtGd5SKtQoJc4ksNUEtW6rucDE9gw.jpg

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoVE1qbPrMSVCEXzKUF1c5S9KLwhAj2vGW6ukZqDHc1azD2WbRCpKJwaStUL7.jpg

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmiyHtiwEZQCscw5DGjHeYsFoGWJKPDAhNE9cwwagPC8MqUj1woHnasdYd4HSs.jpg

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoosZLSRbPnRqf6towynWRQd6UoTY1zmt5SrZS1Peu7xSiLAFYj6Hb5VCKTVw.jpg

Wow these are beautiful! The reflection always ads so much magic to the photos.

Right. And it also comes with some peace and quiet. The reflection only forms on calm water.

The canal is so green 😲 Very different from the one in B'ham. I believe you have covered this part of London before in your posts. On my list!
And the water in Thanet is just so beautiful, makes me want to jump into for a swim 👍
I guess I am not much of a lake person. Which type is your prefered?

Yes Thanet is beautiful. And the water is very nice too. I'm not a great swimmer though so I usually just stay my distance and admire :)

Yea, there were algae in the canal at the time. It looks beautiful but apparently its really bad for marine life.

Give me some beautiful bodies of water and luscious trees or give me death:) Thanks for sharing these cool areas , Ade

Victoria park lake, Brighton beach and Hackney by the canal

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeap it's mine for sure :))

Posted using Partiko Android

My three are all beaches in the great Caribbean island of Puerto Rico! Vieques, Culebra and La Parguera! Wish I had photos but no digital cameras when I used to go!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The pond lake more beautiful

i like the favourite seaside...amazing photos :) Cheers :)

all photography are very beautiful. i also like sea side and forest zone with river.

Posted using Partiko Android

All the places really amazing, lovely photographs!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82