Rose Of Sharon 🌺steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature4 years ago

JPEG image-8BA9D7AA1C59-1.jpeg

The Hibiscus flower is part of the Mallow family of flowers and is found in tropical and sub-tropical parts of the world


When I was a young lad, I used to eat this flower. Not the petals, but the bud, before it blooms. Once bloomed, I would only pull out the stalk and suck on the nectar at the base. I was practically a bee, or a butterfly I guess.

Most of these flowers are actually edible, evidenced by my still being here haha. I'm sure there are some poisonous ones about, knowing nature and her diversity, but I was lucky. I was introduced to eating hibiscus by a childhood friend/crush :). She would eat dozens of them in one go, so one day I tried it just to impress.

I didn't know the flowers name back then. We simply referred to them as "Never hungry, never die", which I realise in hindsight is grammatically awkward. "Never hunger, never die" or "Never hungry, never dead" would be more correct, but hey, we were kids.

JPEG image-8BA9D7AA1C59-5.jpeg

I'm always excited to see these flowers when I'm away in a tropical country, since they don't grow in the UK (not naturally anyway. I'm sure there is a greenhouse somewhere where they're grown).

I have never eaten them as an adult though. I am a little scared to be honest. You never know, there might be very subtle differences in genetics between these ones in Spain, Italy or Canary Islands that might just kill me haha. Also, it's been decades now, so perhaps I had some childhood immunity that protected me from something back then. Nowadays, it suffices to just look at them and enjoy their beauty and the memories they trigger.

JPEG image-8BA9D7AA1C59-6.jpegJPEG image-8BA9D7AA1C59-4.jpeg


JPEG image-8BA9D7AA1C59-2.jpeg

JPEG image-8BA9D7AA1C59-3.jpeg

This is without a doubt my favourite flower every. I also think it's one of the most beautiful in appearance in the world. The only thing is, it doesn't have a distinct scent like most flowers do. It's not a smell flower like a rose or tulip, but it does come in some of the most vibrant colours.

Have you ever eaten the hibiscus, or any other, flower or am I the only crazy one here?



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Beautiful flowers. I always buy a small bouquet for my kitchen table. Their energy makes the whole house brighter. Yesterday, I bought some sunflowers since they're a nice autuum flower.

Thanks for such a nice post to start my day. 🥰

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahh sunflowers...🌻🌻 I love them. They're a ray of sunlight aren't they :)

(Sorry to hear about downvoting campaign Ade.) I’ll look out for deserving comments and reward them instead!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They sure are. I played some meditation music for them and my other plants last night. My small bamboo was actually dancing (leaves were moving). They all have such a beautiful energy. 💚🌻🍃

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that's special haha.

I have seen the red, white and pink hibiscus around my neighborhood.. but this kinda colors are rare to find here in my country.. it's just amazing. I remember that hibiscus always a flower that used in school to learn about flower's parts.

Yes! I also used this to learn haha. We had to dissect them and label the parts: stem, petal, pollen etc haha. Ah, memories.

I've never eaten a hibiscus flower (I think? It's rather likely that it's been an ingredient in a thing I've eaten, and I just didn't realize it 😅). I do love hibiscus tea! 🌺

These are among my favorite flowers, and I've got some half-sketched ideas in my head for a hibiscus (aka gumamela) tattoo.

Hibuscus tea sounds great :)

I love china rose, though they don't have any smell. But looks good. :)
Look at the color, it's popping up.

They really are very beautiful

Really beautiful, last year I took my wife and two daughters to a park in Caracas had a very beautiful ones, I gave you a quote that mentions them.

cayena1.JPG
(The color is original the photograph was not edited with any photographic software)

I am a rose of Sharon, a lily of the valleys. Like a lily among thorns is my darling among the young women.
Song of Songs 2:1-2

Gracias por compartir.

Was it king David or Solomon that wrote that? So poetic :)

It was written by Salomon inspired by the Holy Spirit of God.

The revelation of this Bible verse tells us that she is the wife of the Lord Jesus (the church) speaks of herself, but she was not boasting, but was comparing herself to the humble flowers of that land.

When you can read it or listen to it on YouTube, it's a book of poetry bible really.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75