Capitol Reef National Park | Utah's Mighty 5

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


For our third stop of Utah's mighty 5 national parks, we hiked Capitol Reef! The hike was only a 2 mile round trip, but included lots of inclines and declines in elevation and the final destination was incredible. The beginning of the trail went parallel to the Fremont river and quickly turned into lots of stairs.


When I first saw this, I thought it was the Hickman Bridge Arch. It seemed to small so I kept hiking further.


As I approached the actual arch, I was agape and taken aback. "This thing is massive!" I thought as i kept walking closer.


I was really grateful that I made it here early and I was the only one on the trail. I was able to really take it all in and spent almost a half hour taking pictures of the arch.


On the way back from the arch I found this cactus in full bloom, and there was a honey bee inside! What are the chances??

As I approached the trail head parking lot I saw that there were a few more cars and then rain started to come down. I camped out in the van for almost an hour as the rain came down, hoping we could hit another trail. In the meantime I was transferring the videos and pictures to my laptop, to make room for the drive lapses to the new campsite. The rain did not see like it was getting any better, so I decided to call it a day and started heading to my next free campsite in Marysvale, Utah.


I still have a video to upload detailing the hike to Grand View Point, in Canyonlands. Unfortunately, my internet speed is < 100kbps where I am and cannot upload gigabyte videos to Dtube. I just finished another video detailing this hike at Capitol Reef as well. So please forgive me for uploading out of order this week and I promise to have these two hiking videos uploaded to Dtube after this weekend.

Stay tuned for Bryce Canyon National Park and the best for last ZION!

About the author:

Sold everything I owned and hit the road May, 2018. Follow me on my journey, traveling across America. Living only on Bitcoin! I live in a '92 GMC Vandura and have never been happier.

Follow me on Instagram https://instagram.com/anon_fpv
Follow me on Steemit https://steemit.com/@anonfpv
Subscribe on Youtube https://youtube.com/channel/UCAgzJLOOBDkDDRFlQ4eOyoQ
Subscribe on Bitchute https://bitchute.com/channel/anonfpv/

Sort:  

Always loved Utah. I've been to Bryce and Zion. Zion is beautiful and I wish I had more time to explore there!

When I began this trip, I never thought Utah (of all places) would be the most beautiful. I just never heard anyone talk about Utah. Man, was I missing out. This place has to be one of the most breathtaking in the world. I cannot wait to hike the narrows and angels landing!

ps. thanks for the resteem!

I thought the same for a long time. "Utah" doesn't have that exotic feel like "California" or something similar. My wife and I took our honeymoon in Southern Utah and were amazed by the scenery. Check out Brianhead in the winter (its a ski resort area). That place is amazing with the snow!

The mighty 5 national parks here seem like a great way to spend a honeymoon. Will do! I appreciate all the location recommendations I can get.

Beautiful photo!
Красивое фото!

Thank you so much. There are a lot more where this came from! Bryce Canyon and Zion National Parks this week.

Congratulations @anonfpv! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73