Angelfish, how I came about a breeding pair.

in #nature6 years ago

1969217_10202452909277335_1946426943_n.jpg

1619180_10202452908757322_757864052_n.jpg

These stunning fish were my breeding pair of angles, they had personality and when I collected them they started to drop their eggs in the container in the car on the way home.

I saw an add that asked for someone to go and rescue these fish as the heater to the tank they were in had broken, i answered the message as fast as I could and made my way to this lady's house.

Now I thought that it was going to be a simple pick up and straight home but it turned out to be a bit of a struggle, not with the fish but with the tank they were in.
The advert read, help!, my heaters broken and I need to rehome my angelfish.

When I got to the house the lady who had placed the add came to the door soaking wet, and asked me to help her.
She had been decorating and to finish off she had been putting up a metal rail in her bedroom, the rail had slipped and gone through the side of the tank and water was gushing out everywhere.

She was trying to clean the water up off the floor as her tank as water was still coming out of the tank, it was so funny. I didn't laugh at the time but I put my bucket under the bow of the tank and collected the remaining water before scooping up the Angelfish and popping them in the water.

I then stayed to help for ten minutes mopping. when I picked up my bucket there were little white eggs all over the side, the lady said to me that they were something that they did, and thought it was odd that they left these things up the sides of things.

I explained that they were eggs, and that they had been breeding. she was shocked.

Now, I didn't want the eggs to die so when I got home I added a heater to the bucket and a pump to keep the water moving, I removed the parents and rehomed them in a bigger tank.

The eggs slowly started to hatch out after about 3 days and out of about 100 eggs i was left with 10 angelfish fry.
I was happy with that result as it is pretty hard to keep the water right in a bucket.

I fed them on microwarms and brine shrimp until they were ready for a bigger grow out tank.

I sold the angel fry when they were big enough to go, it was a sad time as I got them nice and friendly, i was able to put my hand in the tank with them and they didn't care, they just carried on with their day.

Now angel fish grow big, not long but high, and they are an aggressive fish, when you see them for sale as community fish this is wrong, they nip fins, and will eat anything that they can fit into their mouths, so i would say these are best suited to a tank of their own.

Sort:  

Really cool story! I can still remember when I got my fresh water angel, was as big as a quarter, adopted it from someone who had an overcrowded tank (was actually a kids mom that gave it to me well tried to give it I payed her for it figured it would make the kid happy) but I named that fish Dobbie and then I had another named creature :p they got along well real pretty fish when they are mature they can get this cool blue accent on their scales

You got a 21.23% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @artonmysleeve! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73