The Magic of the Rhododendron forest

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

It was the second day of our hike on the famous Poonhill Trek. We started at Tikhedhunga and had to reach Ghorepani village till the end of the day. Within the first two hours we climbed up through the typical Nepalese rural landscape, surrounded by hills covered with agricultural terraces.

1.jpg

The surrounding us landscape changed as we climbed up and I understood that we are getting closer to the belt of forest we were expected to cross on our way up.

2.jpg

Very soon I found myself entering a magical forest, I can't call it otherwise. Dense vegetation partially blocked sunlight and the forest twilight looked mystical.

3.jpg

Huge Rhododendron trees reached up to 30m in height and stood like giants guarding the entrance to the magical realm.

4.jpg

I enjoyed watching the game of light and shade around me. This kind of game can never bore photographer's eye.

_AGV6062.jpg

The forest grew denser as we went deeper into it.

5.jpg

I was overwhelmed by that world of green around me. It felt like I could spend a week in this forest absorbing its magic.

6.jpg

I wanted to scream to our group: Stop! Do not run! This is the most important moment of our trip! What is the point of that rushing towards the end point?
Yet I remained silent.

7.jpg

I decided that someday I will return to these places and spend a few quiet days alone with that Rhododendron forest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11