Beautiful Birds Around The World - Part #7

in #nature5 years ago

Hey there!

This is part #7 of my bird photo series.

I took these photos during our trip around the world in 2014.

I have lots of bird photos, so I'm gonna split them up into several posts!

I can't remember exactly where all the photos were taken, and I'm not sure if I named all the birds correctly.

Please, feel free to correct me if I made any mistakes!

Do we have any eager birdwatchers here?

Which bird in these photos is your favorite?

My own favorite is the Hummingbird in the first photo. It's incredible how their feathers changes colors with every turn.

Did you know?

- Some hummingbirds hearts can beat as fast as 1,260 beats per minute.

- A resting hummingbird takes about 250 breaths per minute.

- Hummingbirds can fly forward, backward, and even upside down.

- Some species can dive at speeds in excess of 22 m/s (79 km/h; 49 mph).

- The Giant Hummingbird beats its wings 10-15 times per second. The fastest recorded rate is about 80 beats per second on an Amethyst Woodstar Hummingbird.

- Hummingbirds are actually the only birds that can sustain hovering.

Source
Source


Hummingbird, USA.
IMG_3650.JPG
New Zealand Pigeon/Kereru, New Zeland.
IMG_1810.JPG
Little Pied Cormorant, New Zealand.
IMG_2378.JPG
No idea, Singapore.
WP_000506.jpg
I believe it's a Grey heron, Thailand.
IMG_3622.JPG


My previous bird posts:

#1: https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/beautiful-birds-around-the-world-part-1

#2: https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/beautiful-birds-around-the-world-part-2

#3: https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/beautiful-birds-around-the-world-part-3

#4: https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/beautiful-birds-around-the-world-part-4

#5: https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/beautiful-birds-around-the-world-part-5

#6: https://steemit.com/nature/@borran/beautiful-birds-around-the-world-part-6


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

You got a 16.91% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @borran! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Cool selection! I wouldn´t say the first one is a hummingbird (looks pretty massive for a hummingbird) but I believe you :) The unidentified bird from Singapore looks like a baby of some mythical bird monster :D

Thanks! I'm not 100 % sure but quite sure! :)..I saw it flying around up-close for quite some time! I believe the picture distorts how big the bird actually is!..Yeah, the bird in the last photo is a bit freaky! :D

Awwww I love hummingbirds <3

Congratulations @borran! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I know this is no way related to the post but maybe if you try logging into steemit you can fix the thumbnail and make it load instead.

Good idea! But it works now, apparently! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36