Up That Weeded Path We Tread Again

in #nature5 years ago

About 6 months ago, I started planting some weed - and no, I certainly did not plant it for recreational fun!

You see I started experimenting with different natural medication for my cancer, however buying cbd oils can be quite pricey, and I hardly have the right knowledge to produce it. But I just so happened to know someone who was making it, the problem was that there was still a drastic shortage of funds to buy the oil.

I ended up going to see the said oil-maker and we managed to strike up a bartering system, I would grow the weed and then swap the raw weed for the cbd oil.

DSCN3034.JPG

Initially I planted quite a few seeds because I red that you would have to weed out the male plants as time goes by, and I was scared that I might not have enough to trade with, at the end of the day though I ended up with WAY TOO MUCH OF THE STUFF. Never the less I managed to trade the majority of it for the much needed medication.

However while I was growing (In my vegetable garden of course ) I started noticing that all the vegetables that were grown in the same beds that I was growing the weed in seemed to be in a much better state than the veggies that were growing on their own. And seeing that I have to plant again for the next barter, I decided that this time I would not just grow it in one section of the garden, as an experiment I have decided to spread it out a bit, and whenever I plant new veggies, I would plant some weed along side it.

DSCN3017.JPG

Above you can see my pumpkin weed and below my corn weed.

DSCN3021.JPG

And here in this last picture you can also see my onion weed

DSCN3031.JPG

These are just a few of the established garden beds, there is also tomato weed, greenpepper weed, potato weed and carrot weed. I am not quite too sure how this time round will turn out, but I do look forward to writing about it and sharing with you guys as soon as harvest time comes around :D

Sort:  

Instead of bartering, make your own Rick Simpson Oil (RSO) by ordering a 5 gal 99.5% isopropanol alcohol from eBay or Amazon and chop up the product and soak it in a 5 gal bucket with the alcohol, you can pack it in pantyhose and or strain it through pantyhose after you take most of the stuff out. After that you boil off the alcohol in a slow cooker outside, placing a teaspoon of water in beforehand to make sure that at the end you don't burn the oil after all the alcohol evaporates you'll be left with the green gold. As for the veggies doing better next to the weed, that sounds like what they call companion planting, which unfortunately has very little literature involving weed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow - thank you so much for this I really appreciate it, I will certainly try that with my next harvest, can I ask you something? when making the oil - would it matter weather I am using male and female plants, or should I still weed out the males?

I am familliar with companion plants, and often use it when planting, but I never knew that weed would have such a great effect - much better that any companion plants I have coupled, and it works on any plants you grow with it, where normally companion planting is plant species selective.

You should weed out the male plants because it's easy, they stretch longer and flower first, and because when the female gets pollinated it stops producing flowers and focuses most energy on making seeds. If you want to keep the male plants you can snip off the buds before they flower or cover the male flowers with little shopping bag plastic baggies that you snap shut around the buds, and you'd do the later mainly if you want to make seeds and pollinate plants for genetics/traits.

Separating males from females can usually happen at the first sign of preflowers, at the two week mark, after the first true leafs are "out", the females have long thin preflowers (the small 'leafs' that you see at all the nodes of the young plants, and at the top but it's easier to distinguish them at the nodes) and the males are short and stocky/broad. Another tip to follow is to keep at least a male plant around as the females can sense if there is a viable pollinator in 'pollinating' range and if not they will usually herm out and self-pollinate, though it might only be a few seeds. The plant does redirect most energy from bud production to creating the seeds once they're pollinated which means less flower, cannabinoids mostly stop developing and fewer trichomes produced. If you use the baggie method on a male that's close by then after the pollen sacks open and release you can use a makeup brush to pick them up and brush a bud on the female plant so you can develop traits and have seeds for next year.

You can use male plants to make the oil and everything on the plant, not only the flowers. I made some a few years ago following RS directions and I used trim from the previous season, with 10 gallons of alcohol and about 4 pounds of trim I made 10 big syringes of oil, I think one syringe was 45 grams of oil/65 ml. If you use flowers from females exclusively you will get substantially more but if you have the alcohol then there's no reason to not use the whole plant, male or female

Posted using Partiko Android

Very cool. Thanks for posting here at Steemit, the OG hangout for cannabis people. :)

:D Oh my pleasure!

Awesome .... you should share your experience over on Smoke.io (like Steemit for Cannabis Community)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh nice - I will go have a look into it !

We started growing too...fir the same reasons.
We also bought the equipment to make our own oils....works a charm now.
Good lick with it all...we have seen its benefits

How awesome is that! - Hey, what equipment did you get, someone just replied in a comment here how to make it in a standard pot LOL so I am curious as to the equipment...

No we bought a proper Distiller so we could recover the Ethanol used to extract the oils.
That and a filter coffee maker are needed

Then a strainer, some bowls, ethanol (96% for human consumption) and weed :)

Plant looks healthy, so glad you have found a way to obtain the oil in bartering trade. Bonus if all the other veggies benefit being surrounded by healthy plants defending the crop @breezin

It is a win win situation LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91