Hitchhiker

in #nature6 years ago

4c783cce-6f19-4aef-8433-e86739f72abf.jpeg


This little guy thought it would be a good idea to hitch a ride on my truck fender. Mission accomplished. 20 minutes later at 60 miles per hour, he's a long way from home.



Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

That camera is something else! Every detail is there on that spider.
I took my extension ladder on top of the car to an interior job a few weeks ago, and nearly lost a tree frog inside the lady's house, it had clung to the ladder the whole way. It jumped off once I had the ladder set up inside, I caught it, but had to leave it in her bushes.

Isn't it amazing how tenacious these critters can hold on when the car starts rolling?

It reminds me of an old story, I think it was from WW2. Soldiers were holding a Zeppelin down with ropes, and when the alarm went off to let go a few kept holding on and floated into the sky. They started dropping one by one after 5 minutes or so. But, a few managed to stay on the entire flight.

Someone had taught the survivors the trick of draping the rope over one foot and stepping on it with the other, keeping their arms from getting exhausted.

I filed that one away on the off chance I'm ever lifted off ground by a stray air balloon or two.

Yup, the spider and the frog and I have a few things in common. Number one, we ain't letting go till the rides over...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05