Tidying up the foot path - or when to cut down those flowers...

in #nature6 years ago

Yesterday afternoon I was contemplating the big task of cutting the encroaching grass (meadow) on this path. I will use a strimmer because pulling everything would be too much and I don't mind it if it all comes back.

I was also thinking that if I cut it now I will deprive some pollinating insects of all that poppy pollen 😆 ...

I was also playing with the setting of my mobile phone camera: making it darker

and lighter

I always called these flowers 'sweet williams' but I'm not really sure if they are really called that.

I also came across these in a different section to be 'tidied up' :

It's another one I need to 'name' - as if naming them could give me some control over their existence...

Anyhow, this was my favourite fortunate shot of them all.

Clearly even the tiniest flowers can provide a morsel of pollen to passing insects... I'm happy to wait (but can the rain ?)

Sort:  

You have such cute flowers there.... What happens if you just cut the green parts and leave the flowers? Make a little path instead?

Thanks, @marblely ! Here's an update from this morning :

I'm looking forward to getting the new strimmer, but that's as far as I got yesterday before the strimmer got broken... I do selective cutting normally going around nice looking weeds with flowers (I'm terrible 😁

Hehe no, you are not terrible. The area looks neat and tidy after the trim and some of the flowers are still there! Yippy! :)

I don't know what those swirly pink ones are...except pretty 😀, but the white ones are commonly called goutweed. (I don't know the botanical name). I have it it my gardens and it is very persistant. I don't even try to control it as that would be fruitless but I do pray it doesn't spread to my hill. 😳

Thank you @anise. I hadn't heard of goutweed before 🌺
I've just come in from doing some cutting and, unfortunately, accidentally broke the strimmer so we're choosing a new one at the moment...😒

Pretty photographs @cryptocariad. I like the path as it is but I don't have to walk along it.

I don't think those flowers are sweet williams. I think sweet williams have multiple flowers on one stem with that slightly hairy look! 😊

Thank you @gillianpearce... and I agree I also like it that way... but after the flowers go it will look a bit unkempt (like my hair 😌)

Well since you don't have an avatar picture I can't comment on your hair @cryptocariad. 😁

On a more serious note it's probably worth getting one up. There are so many spam accounts nowadays that lots of people skim past posts, myself included, that only have the little grey person.

It would be a shame if people were missing your posts because of that.

Very fair point re the 'avatar' @gillianpearce... In fact, I'm yet to write an introductory post so I may be doing that today 😅

You are not alone @cryptocariad. I'm coming up to my 6 months anniversary and I haven't done an introductory post either. 😂

Hey, look at me now @gillianpearce... I've got a rose / pink meringue-looking avatar 😉

Well done @cryptocariad. Only down side is I don't get to see your unkempt hair.

Ah well. You can't win em all as they say. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89