Daily Nature Fix: Around Glacier. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys. I always thought it was weird to say "Happy Memorial Day", but hey, Happy Memorial Day. Speaking of which, I need to get ready to go out and do some family get together stuff, but I have a few minutes so I figured I'd post up a DNF. Not much of a theme to this one, aside from all of the photos being taken at Glacier National Park.

RoundGlacier00b.jpg

Glacier was one those wonderful surprises in my life. A few years before this trip, I was sent to Montana for work. Towards the end of the work week, Kylene flew out as well and we made a trip out of it all by going to Yellowstone. Yellowstone blew my mind. It still does. I told you that, to tell you this. Around 2 years later, I had to go to Montana again for work and once again, Kylene flew out as well towards the end of my job and kinda make an impromptu vacation. I wanted to go to Yellowstone again, but she wanted to go to Glacier National Park. I didn't know much about Glacier at the time, but I did know that Yellowstone was possibly the most incredible place I've ever been. She convinced me to do only like 2 days in Yellowstone, then make the 6-ish hour drive to Glacier and spend the next 4 or 5 days there. Boy, and I glad she did! While Yellowstone has all of these amazing features and such, I'd say Glacier is more all-around beautiful. Breathtaking views of the Rockies and countless bodies of water. Plus some of the most wildlife I've seen in one place.

RoundGlacier00a.jpg
^^^This is Iceberg Lake. A small lake at the base of a coliseum of sheer cliff face. I liked the reflection in this photo.

We took one of our favorite hikes ever in Glacier. It was around 5 or 6 miles each way to Iceberg Lake (pictured above), and while the lake itself was cool, the entire hike treated us to some incredible scenery. Actually, I think the first photo on this post was taken on that hike too.

RoundGlacier00c.jpg
^^^This was taken on the evening of our first night there. The sun was setting and the peaks of the mountains were catching some neat colors.

Glacier National Park is a must-see destination to really appreciate it's majesty. If you ever book a trip to Yellowstone, try to squeeze in a few extra days to see it. You won't be sorry!


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam
FollowBannerMay2018v2.jpg
*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Happy Memorial Day! Have a good time with your family! These pictures of Glacier are stunning!

Happy memorial day @customnature, just wondering as I think I already know the answer but is the glacier national park in montana? I think its something that i learned at school like 20 years ago and i wanted to see if my geography is up to par. haha.
Looks beautiful by the way nicely take photos.
@artonmysleeve

Great shots @customnature!
I love the lighting/shadows in that first shot :)

Thanks! I do like how that mountain to the right is catching the sun as well. :-D

best picture and really make me want hiking on there place someday.. :)

Just like excursion
never heard yellow stone before

Amazing
Very nice photography
Your all posts are very nice

Yet another place I need to go... however this one is perfect for summer!
Hmmm I'll need to plan when to hit it when the SunRoad is open.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33