Daily Nature Fix: Big-Headed Rocks.... with nice hair. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Good evening, folks. Tonight's Daily Nature Fix features these top-heavy rock formations in New Brunswick, Canada:

Hopewell00a.jpg

They're quite a few of them in the area and they're collectively known as "Hopewell Rocks". Fittingly enough, they're found on Hopewell Cape. These formations were created tidal erosion. That reddish water you see in the background is, in fact, ocean water.

Hopewell00b.jpg

There were several of these pillars in the area. Some are around 40 feet tall and others as much as 70 feet. I loved these things. The crazy shapes seemed to defy physics and made you feel like they'd topple over any minute. The trees and shrubs on top were awesome as well. If you look at the last two photos, you'll see black stuff around the bases of these formations. That's actually seaweed; which leads me to another interesting fact about this visit. Hopewell Cape is located on the Bay of Fundy.
The Bay of Fundy has one of the largest tidal ranges in the world. I didn't even know what that meant until I was there. It means that there is a HUGE difference in the depth of the water between high tide and low tide; as much as 56 feet!! During high tide, these things have water almost up to the fat part of the formations, above their "necks".

Hopewell00c.jpg

Everywhere you see people in the photo above is underwater at high tide. Naturally, that happens twice a day. From what I understand, it happens because the conditions happen to be just right. The length and shape of the bay makes a situation where the time it takes a wave to reach from opening of the bay to the far shoreline is the same as the time between tides. So the water kind of 'piles up' at high tide. Pretty cool stuff. Well done, Mother Nature!


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

I have been there once. Great photos of Hopewell Rock.

I always admire the power of nature. Those pillars were carved and shaped by the water over the years.
The other interesting thing is how plants are able to survive on top of these pillars! Wonderful, well done!

The plants may be my favorite part! lol They pillars would look no where near as cool without the stuff on top.

I agree! I'm planning to post about plants growing in awkward places, what do you think? Would that be a good idea? 🙂

Beautiful photos! I'm glad to start traveling again!
This is another proof that nature is incredible, as it is possible that only water does this.
nature is creating beautiful places over the years and can also destroy in seconds too.

Definitely! Actually, one of the most popular formations at this place collapse in 2016. It was called Elephant Rock, I think.

Wow, I would have liked to see it at least in a photo, I will look for information in Google to admire that beautiful work of art created by nature.

Water erosion is so powerful. It distribute just one rock into pieces

Wow so cool! I would love to see these. Canada has so much incredible nature to see and explore! It seems to have the most stunning national parks too, I will have to go and check them all out one time :) great post! Love the DNF!

It really does, especially when you start getting out toward Alberta. Banff if very high on our list of places to go. I can't wait to get out there!

Very cool... they remind me of the Easter Island heads!

Nature's moai! lol

I lived near Sussex N.B. for 5 years of my youth and never had a chance to visit there, maybe one day. Thanks for the tour.

It's weird how we can take nearby wonders for granted a bit. Growing up in eastern Pennsylvania, I lived no more that 15 minutes from an awesome state park that has over 24 beautiful waterfalls; some around 100 feet tall. I never even went to the place until I was in my 30's. :-/ I hope you do make it back to see Hopewell Rocks before they do fall over. One of the large popular formations called Elephant Rock collapsed in 2016.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10