Daily Nature Fix: Bonsai Tree Portraits. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys. Just got done with a nice, long soak in the hot tub and have a little bit of time before going to bed. Figured I'd get a Daily Nature Fix in, right under the radar. The photos that are to follow are from a botanical park/attraction in southeastern Pennsylvania called "Longwood Gardens". It's basically a massive garden/greenhouse/hedges/fountainy kind of place that was built buy one of the DuPont heirs in the early 20th century. You know, just one of those people with more money than they knew what to do with. Anyway, we went in the middle of October and there happened to be a special Bonsai tree exhibit going on... which was an awesome surprise.

Bonsai00b.jpg
^^^This first one is a Japanese Quince.

I've always liked the art of Bonsai. It's so interesting to me. I don't really know a ton about it, other than it involves stuff like root clipping and strategic pruning. I'd love to try creating one, but I don't have the patience for it. I mean decades goes into these things!

Bonsai00a.jpg
^^^This one is a Korean hornbeam tree. I love the trunk of this one.

The Longwood Gardens place has quite a few of their own Bonsai trees in their collection, but during this special event (that we didn't even know about), there were a good 20 or 30 additional trees brought in. The photos in this post are from these special attraction plants.

Bonsai00c.jpg
^^^Here is a tiny Japanese Maple. Now, I love full-size Japanese Maple trees, so this micro version of one was extra awesome. I love the colors of it's little leaves!


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Wow i must confess.. This is beautiful.. 😍😍😍... Great work @customnature

Very nice post and so beautiful bonsai tree

I have never seen the tree Portraits yet in my life. I am grateful to see it in your photos.

Great photographs and subject matter. I love these trees I find them completely amazing how they are so small yet seem so large in life.

When I was a kid I would have given everything to have a bonsai tree. Now I could have one but my desire is gone :)
I know a place with a full size Japanese maple tree, which turns red during the fall, I go there and take a bunch of photos and that's enough for me.
I love your photos, these are nice bonsais.

These Portraits are looks real. It is a good skilled work. After all great photography.

Apparently trimming bonsai trees is very therapeutic. And apparently so are pictures of them lol. Thanks for sharing.

The Tiny Japanese Maple is beautiful! @customnature

Beautiful. Love Bonsai. There's a guy in Melbourne with an awesome collection and a little cafe, must visit again. Plus, I need to take a photo of my full sized maple before it drops all its beautiful red leaves!

I've always wanted to visit Longwood and never have. Bonsai always fascinates me, too. I feel sad if a houseplant that I have had for a couple of years dies, I can't imagine what it would be like to care for a plant for decades!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94