Daily Nature Fix: Iceland Touch-of-Color. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hi guys. I'm procrastinating today. I have a lot of stuff to do in my shop and I think that fact alone is keeping me from going down there and getting to work. Anyway, I figured I'd make a DNF post quick and it will be one of those ones I did a few months ago where I change a photo into black and white, but leave just a color or two visible. It makes a neat effect sometimes. Now that I think about it, they're probably worthy of a #funkyedits tag, so I'll add that to the mix.
All of the touch-of-color photos in this batch were taken in Iceland. Hope you enjoy them!

TOCiceland00a.jpg
^^^Can't have "Iceland" with out ice, right? This first one was taken at the popular glacier lagoon called Jökulsárlón. The Vatnajökull glacier carved out this lake and as it melts and recedes, it's constantly calving icebergs into the lagoon and they pile up near the shore where. This was taken this past December.

TOCiceland00b.jpg
^^^Iceland has a ton of wildflowers growing everywhere. I'm not sure what these little pink ones were, but found clusters of them, often around rock piles and lava fields. At first, I just had the pink flowers in color, but it looked a little weird so I added some of the greenery. This photo was taken last July.

TOCiceland00c.jpg
^^^Speaking of flowers, here we have some lupines. Lupines are like the quintessential flower in Iceland, though they are not native to the country. I believe they were brought in to help curb erosion and soil loss. Now, the lupines can be found all throughout the country and some areas in the south and east have fields of them that stretch for many square miles! This was also taken last July.


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

hi friend @customnature excellent photos are very sharp I would love to know that wonderful place. a great regards

Just WOOW!!! The photos are stunning!!!

Thanks, man! In retrospect, I should have posted the originals as well... but hey, I'll leave a bit of mystery in the mix. lol

I keep having dreams of Iceland, and it looks like these photos...

I am also suffering from bigtime procrastination, which is why I don't have the song down yet.

It's a dreamy place; that's why we got married there!

No rush on the song, my good man. I figured it's one you probably have never played before. That being said, I do check your blog daily cause I don't want to miss it! Funny story about that song, I went with it because 1)I worked with a lot of harsh chemicals the last 7 years and it sorta became my mantra. And 2) they're a band from Newfoundland and we're going there in July!

I should do a version of this song about deathmatch wrestling!!!

lol Please don’t. That’s a dubious part of our past that is rather be forgotten. Haha

I feel like I'm the only one left on Steemit who hasn't been to Iceland. Must get there before the ice melts... that should leave me a few years😉

Love your first shot. You didn't enhance the blue right? The color is left as is, just the rest is BnW?

That is correct! During winter, the ice is especially blue like this. I just isolated the blue and made the rest b&w. I'd hurry to Iceland though! The real travesty is that they're building and building to accommodate the tourism boom. We've gone 4 times now and each visit we see more buildings encroaching on the natural beauty. :-/

Such a shame to hear this. Feels like there's no escaping it... so many countries and beautiful sites fall victim to mass tourism. A double-edged sword if there ever was one.

Very beautiful!
Even the ice

Loved Iceland, and that first photo is amazing! Did you went beneath the glacier as well? I remember it formed a few small caves we could enter!

As you can probably see i'm just now finding your account. Nice stuff!

That looks fabulous!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79