Daily Nature Fix: Sandstone Slot Canyon - Raw/Unedited. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hi guys! I just posted the winners of this past week's Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, but I still have a few minutes here so I figured I'd bang out DNF post while I'm at it. I was really feeling like doing something desert related and I came across a bunch of photos from Antelope Canyon in northern Arizona. Now, I've posted a few photos from this incredible formation in the past, but the ones I'm about to share are 100% unedited. All I did was resize them to make them a little smaller, but I didn't enhance a thing. They look exactly as they came straight off the camera. I figured it'd give folks a better idea of how it looked in person and how amazing it is to be there.

Antelope00c.jpg
^^^This one is my favorite of the bunch, so I figured I'd start of strong. Again, this is pretty much exactly how it looked in person. No fancy editing or camera tricks. I think you can just start to see the top of someones head at the bottom of the frame. lol

Antelope00b.jpg
^^^Here's another cool shot that stood out to me. Theres a bit of motion blur and stuff, as it was pretty dark towards the bottom of the 100ft tall canyon and I didn't have a tripod... but the colors and highlights still looked like something that was worth sharing. :)

Antelope00a.jpg
^^^Another wider view from inside the canyon. It was a bit brighter in this area and the layers of colors and shades were really neat to see. Lots of red and orange colors of the Navajo sandstone rock.


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Love these formations I've seen them photographed before and they always intrigue me. The way the light and dark on the rocks contrast even unedited it just looks amazing. Would love to see them in person. Thanks for sharing as always mate :)

Glad you like the images. In fact, the most expensive photograph ever sold (to date) was taken here in Antelope Canyon. It was a photo taken by Peter Lik called "Phantom" and it sold for $6,500,000 at auction. 😮

That is an incredible photo! 6.5m thought 😱

Truly majestic eye candy with these pics, @customnature! They've also given me more than a bit of past-tense FOMO seeing as we were just in Arizona during our 8 month Epic Road Trip through the USA and Canada last year. But of couse one can't see everything and Antelope Canyon was one of the things we sadly missed (most likely because we never even heard of it ; -)

That said, we did visit loads of breathtaking places and took tons of photos so, now that I've found your blog and contests, hopefully, you'll be seeing some of them soon (I'm still very much learning my way around Steemit and also organizing all our pics). Thanks for all your hard work and generosity. Cheers!

Thanks for the kind words! As one of your new followers, I hope to see a ton of photos from your trip!

Such an incredible place! Great photos!

Thanks @melinda010100! It really is an incredible formation. Crazy to think it was formed by water, being in the middle of the desert and all. Flash floods still rip through there frequently, filling the entire thing to the top, sometimes.

Inspiring images. Wonderful forms and patterns and colors.
An abandoned in the desert theme would be great. I’ve got some shots of abandoned stuff in the Namibian desert and Egypt as well. Looking forward.

I've thought about that theme! I decided not to do it though because it would likely exclude a TON of people who are nowhere near deserts. lol

Of course, you’re so right. The Abandoned Desert theme would exclude many participants. I liked the idea of a pyramid being abandoned 3000 years ago.

Sick Dude!! Pretty dann good photograpghs - that must have been amazing to be there

As with almost everything, the photos do not to it justice. I love the shit that mother nature can come up with!

I have a confession to make. Years ago, when I saw photos like this a wallpaper, always thought they are digital work, nothing real :) and here it is, it is real :)

Thinking it was digital art is certainly a reasonable thought; the place is really unbelievable!

I know what now. To be honest, your credibility convinced me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99