Daily Nature Fix: Trying Hard at Photography - Pt. 1 (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hi folks. Wow, midnight snuck up on me quick tonight. Anyway, I have a ton of respect for real photographers. It's so neat when you instantly see someone's photos and it's a cut above the rest. We live in a world full of people calling themselves "photographers" only because they spend over $500 on a dslr camera, but it takes so much more. Knowing the ins and outs of said camera, knowing the rules of great composition, knowing the perks and perils of lighting, etc. Then you need to know a ton of shit on the backend when you process the photos in whatever editing software you use.
Well, I'm not a photographer, nor would I ever claim to be. I know the basic functions of a camera, but I'm far from educated on the subject. I can get around on photoshop, but I'm by no means an expert. I use the #photofeed tag rather sparingly. lol I'd love to be as good as a true professional photographer, and I eventually might be.... but I don't have the drive to pursue it. That requires so much time and effort to learn, and I always have a dozen irons in the fire the way it is. I'm comfortable calling myself "a guy that takes pictures" for now.
That's not to say I don't try to improve my photography skills, though. I'm always looking for tips from some true professionals I know, like @joleenwillis and my brother @kommienezuspadt. Them, and the ton of other talented, true photographers in this Steemit community have inspired me to try harder when it comes to my photos. But, that's not to say I don't get lucky every once in a while.... and that kind of sums up what this new miniseries of Daily Nature Fix posts will be about: some of closest-to-professional photographs that I have in my archives. I usually like to add 3 or 4 photos to each post, and hate when there is just one, but it's fitting for this initiative. Here is the first of my "Trying Hard at Photography" series:

GoodPhoto00a.jpg
ISO 500|ƒ/11|1/500 Nikon D90

This photo was taken on a vista overlooking a valley in Glacier National Park. I don't mean to sound super self-deprecating in the early part of this post, but I definitely let the subject/landscape do the heavy lifting to make a cool photo, 90% of the time. lol I do like this one though. It's one of the more "epic" photos that I have ever taken. It's not perfect, but it has a lot less of the simple point-and-shoot look that most of my photos have. I hope you guys like it as well!

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

wow the lovely view i have seen in my life keep it up man thanx for sharing

WOW! Beautiful shot great composition and lighting, the light and dark contrast is excellent especially with the rich blue sky and wonderful clouds. Top notch photo!

Thanks! That's a huge compliment, coming from you. 🙏

Very nice post, thanks for sharing and glad to meet you my friend ...

I know what you mean!
This shot is deserving of the photofeed tag

I really should try and learn how to improve, as we spend so much money on travel. It'd be nice to have some photos as cool as the locations we visit. :-/

This is lovely. You shouldn't put yourself down like that -- this photo draws you in because of the water and ice on the left hand side. It also follows the "Rule of Threes" -- you should look it up if you're interested. It will help you with your composition -- it helped me... a lot.

I'm familiar with the rules of threes, but I've never tried to implement it. Not intentionally, anyway. I never even think about stuff like composition when we're on a trip somewhere. Perhaps a lot of what I need to improve on is my mindset/focus while I'm somewhere cool. lol I always just try to document what I'm seeing... not so much in an artistic way.

I think mindset/focus is the difference between a gorgeous photo and a gorgeous snapshot.

You could always go out and just take photos in your neighborhood -- you don't have to be on a trip somewhere. I'm not a great photographer, but I know that to get good at something is to practice, practice, practice :) With today's digital tech, at least we can take lots of photos instead of worrying about how to get that one image via a film camera. :)

Oh man, speaking of... check out that @irvinesimages who commented just below. The photos he posts from the southwest US are are film (pretty much) from the 1990ish. Respect! I can barely remember the pre-digital days and not being able to look at the images instantly.

excellent natural photography.

well done @customnature , thanks for sharing this wonderful view with us!

The scenery is very beautiful.
i love photography

What amazing view, appreciate that

It is really well done photo! The lighting condition was quite difficult, shooting towards the sun is hard part without ND filters, so it was imposible to keep whole sky without any burnings, You managed to balance the light pretty well without doing hdr shot. I like the natural colors and great light balance on the ground. I like it, very good shot of beautiful place.

Wow, thanks for the feedback and compliment @photovisions! The shooting into the sun thing was a pain. It sucks when what you want to take a photo of is massive and you cant just get a look at it from the other side. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19