Daily Nature Fix: Volcanoes I've Been To. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hi guys. We'll the weekends is winding down and I'm sure that shit feeling of another work week is creeping in. You got this, though. Anyway, tonight's Daily Nature Fix is about a few volcanoes I've been to. I'd imagine most people appreciate these insane geothermic features. That is, aside from people affected by them when they erupt. Not too many volcanoes in central Pennsylvania though, so they've always captured my imagination and sense of adventure. Like some real Jules Verne shit, know what I mean? Anyway, the volcanoes I post tonight are all ones that have that classic volcano shape. You know, a cone shape with a crater on the top. Observe:

Volcanos00b.jpg

That's Mt. Edgecumbe outside of Sitka, Alaska. An added bonus? That little bird that's a bit off center in the photo is a bald eagle. Classic Alaska, no? Anyway, here is a wider shot of the volcano:

Volcanos00d.jpg

I've posted some photos of Edgecumbe before, so I tried to dig up a few new ones. At some 3,000 feet tall, this bad boy looks a lot more menacing than it really is. It's last eruption was around four thousand years ago and it's been dormant ever since. Though someone did play a sweet prank in the 1970's where they lit a pile of tires on fire inside the craters and everyone freaked out thinking it was going to erupt. haha It was an April Fool's joke.
Now then, onto the next:

Volcanos00c.jpg

From snow to the tropics, this is the Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna, Costa Rica. This was the first volcano I ever saw, and my god, what a textbook example of one. Picture a volcano from back in the times of the dinosaurs... got it in mind? Chances are it looks a lot like this one.

Volcanos00a.jpg

First of all, it's pretty huge. Like nearly twice the size of the first one on this post, nearly 6,000 feet tall. Second of all, it's in the middle of the freaking jungle. AND third off all, there was a little puff of smoke coming from the top. lol That's ridiculous, isn't it? I describe it as: if you asked a 6 year old to draw a volcano, they'd probably draw Arenal. Also, it's a pretty active one. It's last eruption was in 2010. Actually, I think a guide and a few tourists died in that one after they were overtaken by a lava flow.
Okay, one more:

Volcanos00e.jpg

This one is the Saxholl Volcano crater. It's found on the Snæfellsnes peninsula in western Iceland. I'm putting this one last for two reasons. Ones is because it's a shitty dark photo. BUT there is one cool thing about the shittiness: it was taken around 2:00am. In summer, Iceland never gets 100% dark at night. Anyway, the second reason it's last is because I'm pulling some cool literary reiteration shit. Remember when I mentioned Jules Verne in the beginning? Well, in his story "Journey to the Center of the Earth", the characters find the entrance to the center of the Earth on the Snæfellsnes peninsula. Though it's way smaller (only around 300 feet) than the other two, it may have been the very one to inspire Mr. Verne and his classic novel!


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam
FollowBannerMay2018v2.jpg
*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

nature is the best for world

I wish I could say the same for "volcanos I've visited" as my total is a big goose egg - lol - AMAZING AMAZING shot - you are very blessed to have been in the company of this natural creation of mother nature :)

They're stunning.

I really fear volcano 🌋, heat from mountain 🗻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81