My "Scary Lake" odissey continues

in #nature6 years ago

That day I woke up and I was surprised to see almost clear sky above the mountains, instead of the promised for a whole week from the forecast clouds, rain and thunderstorms. I had other plans for the day, but the day looked perfect for a place that I want to hike to for more than 6 months - The Scary Lake. If you've been reading my blog for a while, you probably remember that I've mentioned it. Shortly - this lake is relatively difficult to approach ( for Rila mountain) and really incredibly beautiful. I've been there before and I am trying to go again since I discovered by chance in the autumn a new pathway that leads to it. And by trying I mean more than 5 "unsuccessful" attempts- because of the snow, the weather or the lack of pathway. I don't mind though, with or without reaching it, every hike is exciting.

For this time I was almost sure that it would be possible to reach it and although I didn't, my hike was a memorable one. After around 2 hour hiking while I was next to another lake (again if you've read my posts - the well-known Yonchevo lake) I heard the first thunder. It sounded terrifying and yet somehow exciting so after a slight hesitation I continued upwards.

And after less than an hour walking on a steep path I arrived in the winter.

FSCN7297.JPG

FSCN7370.JPG

FSCN7376.JPG

FSCN7340.JPG

FSCN7361.JPG

FSCN7363.JPG

The Scary Lake is called like that because of the way the thunders sound if you are around it as the echo there is really strong. I thought that it would be wonderful to see it exactly in a thunderstorm. There is a shelter on its shore where I could hide if the rain was too heavy.

The mountain has a specific and different majesty in such weather, that I had never witnessed before that - I had never been so high in the mountain (and so far from any shelter) in such weather. Although I've experienced snow and fog several times, rain and thunders were a new thing. When I look through the window and see the mountain peaks hidden in dark clouds, I've always wondered what it would be like to be up there . Now I know - it is awesome! The more I hike, the more astonished I am by the diversity of landscapes that nature offers depending on the season and the weather. It rained briefly several times, even hail.

FSCN7327.JPG

FSCN7331.JPG

FSCN7333.JPG

When I got to the stone river, I decided that is would be irresponsible to continue, although I was already pretty close - to the lake - no more than 40 minutes left. My clothes and my shoes were wet, the thunders were more and more, the sky was really dark and the main reason - the stones were really slippery and there was still two much snow at some places.

FSCN7306.JPG

FSCN7309.JPG

FSCN7305.JPG

Actually at first I didn't believe that that was the right trail although there were little cairns on some of the stones. I thought that there should be another one that I had missed and wandered around for a while and found one more great viewpoint, but not other path.

RSCN7344.JPG

FSCN7346.JPG

FSCN7317.JPG

FSCN7324.JPG

FSCN7323.JPG

FSCN7335.JPG

FSCN7336.JPG

FSCN7339.JPG

FSCN7377.JPG

FSCN7398.JPG

FSCN7287.JPG

And my adventurous soul had enough. So I returned. Yonchevo Lake was reflecting the sky as I was going down and soon after that it started raining again this time without stopping. I wasn't stopping either. I was running downwards really happy that I could witness all that beauty. It was the perfect bad weather. Thank you, mountain, for letting me see more of your majesty :)

FSCN7383.JPG

FSCN7279.JPG

FSCN7394.JPG

And thank you for stopping by!

Sort:  

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Wow, incredible photos! What a majestic nature! Love the sky in the lake! <3

Thank you very much, @frejafri! It’s really a great place for hiking :)

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you very much, @travelfeed!

Really nice flowers in this cold environment. The clouds look really dangerous here.

Thank you very much, Florian! It was an usual hike with this weather, but it was great :)

Amaaazing I can’t believe you hiked that!? Must have been freezing. Nice photography too

I usually always take a selfie and add it to my hiking posts, but that time there was no time for selfies :D It was a little cold, only once my clothes were wet, but not at all freezing and actually I prefer that kind of weather for hiking over sun and clear sky. Cold is definitely better than heat :) Thank you very much for your comment, @stuffing! Glad you liked it!

You really risk it for the biscuit out there in such terrain especially wet and cold!! I take my hat off to your adventuring spirit

Great hike and post :-)

Thank you very much, @harkar!

Hi @danielapetk. You should start using your own tags:
@amazingclicks and @untoldjourneys.
Your work is awesome 😎

☺️🤗 thank you very much, @melip!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79