Found an unknown Pupae in the soil while leveling for the firepit

in #nature6 years ago

and then my youngest squished it...


IMG_20180604_114150047-1.jpg

I was shoveling soil around to level for the firepit/grill and my oldest started yelling about a yellow bug that was exposed in the dirt. I stopped shoveling and went to investigate the random bug. What I found I have not seen before. This little yellow pupae of some kind of bug that was alive and moving. I have seen pupae move before but this one seemed to be rockin.

Pupae.gif

I had picked up the pupae and set it on the stack of bricks. I got a bunch of shots of it in motion for the GIF above. Both boys were watching as I took pictures. The youngest wanted to touch it and I had to keep shoeing his hands away. Well, I was not able to keep him from getting it and the little monster squished the pupae all over the bricks.

I guess I'm lucky I was taking pictures at the moment he did it, but still, I was hoping to try and id the thing before anything untoward happened to it. As of now I am thinking it looks like a Cicada a little bit, but I have not found any definitive proof in my few searches of the bug databases.

Squish.gif

I try to be aware of the things in the soil whenever I am digging. There is a whole world of life at the soil level that most people never see or are even aware of. This is one of those little things that help keep a tiny bit of wonder to my aging brain.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, following, or setting us to autovote on SteemAuto!


Sort:  

osguv4zqive89nrfs1j4.webp

This meme runs through my head a lot when I see weird stuff around the farm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62