Hoverfly on Jerusalem Artichoke Flowers.

in #nature6 years ago

Being eaten by a Bee Assassin Bug!



IMG_20181008_125010002.jpg

I was working on the garden cleanup yesterday and decided to take a few pictures of the only flowers still blooming on the farm. The stalks are up to 14 feet long and the little clusters of flowers are all now near the ground since the stalks have all fallen over. I got some shots of the flowers and as I was looking at the other clusters I noticed this American Hoverfly motionless on the flower. I figured it to be dead as it did not move as I got the phone close for pictures.


IMG_20181008_125045763.jpg

After getting some pictures I noticed the Hoverfly moving a bit which is when I finally was able to see the predator insect that was eating it. The Assassin Bug has a yellow underbelly with black markings on its upper side/wings. It appears that the Hoverfly did not see the Assassin Bug since it blended in to the yellow of the flower petals. This allowed it to sit behind the petal and wait for its prey. It looks like it was able to insert its proboscis into the side of the Hoverfly's body, probably paralyzing it first thing.


IMG_20181008_125112073.jpg

I'm really happy that my vision is such that I notice these sorts of things. I am able to notice small differences in my surroundings which leads me to finding so many cool situations like this. I left the Assassin Bug to finish its meal since nothing can be done for a Hoverfly mid-meal.


IMG_20181008_125202437.jpg

These are the flowers I was initially getting pictures of. The fact that we have blooming flowers and have already had multiple sub-freezing nights makes me want to plant a lot more of the Jerusalem Artichokes. If anything for the flowers and screening effect of the plants, let alone the food supplied.


IMG_20181008_124954593.jpg

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting and sharing!




Sign up for Dlike with the above image link!


Learn how to join the Bytball WCG Distribution!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62