Slugs on the razor's edge GIFs

in #nature6 years ago

Ok, maybe not razor, but the can is still sharp!


IMG_20180708_123537757.jpg

As I was moving my stack of row covers to rearrange yesterday I found these two giant Leopard Slugs. Being as I was moving stuff around I figured I had better put them somewhere and the nearest thing was the empty olive can. I tossed both of them in it, set it aside, and went on organizing. After about 5 minutes I looked over and saw both slugs on the top rim of the can. I watched them circle the top a couple of times before moving around the sides of the can.

There is the old saying of "walking the razor's edge" and this is one of the closest examples I have seen seen in person.

slug-1.gif

It's pretty amazing the things a slug can do with its body having no bones. The fact that they can hold over half their body off the ground, squish their bodies down small, or swell themselves up all with just the muscle that is their body.

slug-2.gif

I find these slugs to be pretty wild given their very distinctive color pattern. This year I have been finding a good number more Leopard Slugs and quite a bit fewer of the other slug species. My loss of seedlings was far less this year than in prior years as well so I am hoping that the increase in Leopard Slugs will keep the trend going. Hopefully their omnivorous nature will lean towards carnivorous more than vegetation.

IMG_20180708_123626122.jpg

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, following, or setting us to autovote on SteemAuto!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37