Indigo Dwarf Irises

in #nature5 years ago (edited)


Indigo Irises


There are more than 200 different species of Iris. The most familiar one, the Dutch Iris, blooms in the summer.

The Dwarf Iris, however, flowers in February when there is little else in the garden. I took these at a local garden centre today. They only grow about 6 to 8 inches in height, which makes them ideal for borders and edging.

Although woodland flowers in their natural habitat, dwarf irises can be forced gently in a greenhouse and brought into the house. In this case they will flower by mid January and make lovely indoor pot plants.


indigo dwarf irises.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Pretty, and so great to have it blooming in February.

Yes. I'm not sure if they would be blooming anywhere other than a garden centre though @sjarvie5. 😁

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 70% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87