Snow Irises

in #nature5 years ago (edited)


Indigo Irises Survive the Snow


These beautiful dwarf irises were some of the few blooms that hadn't been flattened by the snow, when I took this photograph this time last year. I love how the vibrant indigo flowers contrast so strongly against the white snow.

The iris is a very prolific flower and there are more than 200 different species of them. The most familiar one, the Dutch Iris, blooms in the summer.

The Dwarf Iris, however, flowers in February and March when there is little else in the garden. They only grow about 6 to 8 inches in height hence the name dwarf.

In their natural habitat, dwarf irises are woodland flowers but they can be started early in a greenhouse and then brought into the house. In this case they will flower by mid January and make lovely indoor pot plants.


indigo dwarf irises snow.jpg

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

I love your little bed of purple iris.

Thank you @jacey.boldart. They're not actually mine. We don't have a garden, just pots. They were in a National Trust property and there were 100s if them.

Ah.... ok..... well you know how that is, someone reads something and pictures it indicating something one way and someone else can read the same thing and picture it the other. Somehow I thought they were in your yard. 🙂

Still sweetly beautiful no matter where.

Still sweetly beautiful no matter where.

They certainly are. And . . . of wonderful that would be if they were in my garden. But, I can't complain. I have the sea at the end of my road instead. 😁

Ohhh... the sea..... nothing can top that !

Lovely

Posted using Partiko iOS

Whooaas you also have that bed of irish @gillianpearce 😉 I'm jealous now. The flower i called irish here is yellow and it never bear any flower since I have them 😂😂

They're not actually my flowers @cicisaja.. I forgot to mention that this was in a public garden. 😁

They were soooooo pretty though.

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 41% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.282 which ranks you at #2716 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2717).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #155.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10