Our Planet (Netflix Series) : just lovely

in #nature5 years ago

I like nature shows and one thing that can definitely be counted on is that if David Attenborough is involved in the narration it is going to be a winner for sure. All of these episodes were only recently released and I have only watched 2 of them and it comes as no surprise that they are amazing.


source

The show, thus far focuses on nature and humanity's impact on it with our irresponsible ways. While this is nothing new and can be a bit frustrating to watch since the show provides only "finger-pointing" rather than any sort of real solution suggestions. I always find this irritating when a show just says "hey, you are terrible for living your life the way you do but we don't really have any suggestions on how to change that... please watch our show!" But in the end the images and of course David's soothing voice, make for wonderful entertainment.


source

The things that they cover are done in a way that I can't even imagine how they work it out. I have a couple of friends that work in precisely this field (nature videography) and they routinely go on location for weeks only to produce no meaningful footage and therefore almost none (or entirely none) of it ends up being used. Therefore, I can't even imagine the resources that were utilized in order to obtain the footage that this series presents... Probably a crew of people so massive that they are negatively impacting the very ecosystem they are suggesting we should all work harder to protect.


source

The cameras they use are astounding and the video they have in even just the first 2 episodes are absolutely beautiful. The stories they weave are aspects of the world that 99% of us will never be privy to and that is what makes the series so magical.

If you like nature documentaries or appreciate Attenborough's narration of such things anywhere near as much as I do, it probably goes without saying that you would watch this series anyway. It is just breathtaking. You may even learn a thing or two in the meantime. I do like the fact that they don't try to lecture too much about humanity's impact in any sort of specific manor and they (so far) have steered clear of any political sides.

In the meantime I hope it stays that way and that they simply continue to show amazing video and images of wildlife that is just amazing to see. It doesn't surprise me that an Attenborough special would be this magnificent... all of his work is... and I am delighted that there is a new series out there that was only just released yesterday.

Sort:  

I didn't realise these were new ones. I have seen all of his animal documentaries and some of them are just amazing.Have been stuck on "Rotten" for the last day or so. Thanks for this as it is now on my radar.

Live can be funny sometimes. Today I bumped into a video review about Our Planet and wanted to watch it to find out more. After a minute or two, the user said in his review that "David Attenborough is old, like really old, he's going to die in 5 years". 😲 So that was it for me, I'm not interested in reviews from users like that.
And here it is, I bump into your review :) I'm going to watch it.

You should watch it and screw the guy that said that about Attenborough. He has been involved in nature docos since likely before the jerk-face that made that comment has been alive.

I'm going to watch it for sure, you've made a good review, so there's no reason why not. I just don't understand how can someone say such a thing. That is rude and insulting. Anyway, it doesn't matter.

We just caught the first episode this morning. My two-year-old was enthralled with it, too!

Wow awesome dude! I had no idea there was a new Attenborough nature series out! I am watching this tomorrow for sure! Thanks! :D

How wonderful! The video is quite a visual spectacle. I had not seen the review of this program before, I imagine that there are programs that are not so attractive and do not get much publicity. I think I'll follow your advice, and take a look at those chapters. City life can be overwhelming and we need, even if it's for a documentary, to go back to nature... Good Sunday.

Thanks for your review.
This trailer looks amazing, will watch this.
The scene with the penguins looks great.

Beautiful one there, thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85