The biggest Brown Recluse spider I have ever seen!!!

in #nature6 years ago

Seriously, is this not the mother of all Brown Recluse spiders!? I found this big guy the other day behind one of the walls of the house when I was taking the drywall out. When I said I killed several Brown Recluses throughout the day this was one of them. Before doing so I had to catch the damn thing so I could take these pictures. I went and got my biggest silver dollar too to compare it's size.

The silver dollar I am using is about as big as an Eisenhower dollar maybe even a little bigger. As you can see, the fucking spider is BIGGER then the silver dollar!!!
thumbnail_20180603_180137_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180603_180058_resized.jpg

I got out a quarter to give you an even better idea of just how big this spider was. Usually when I find these spiders they are the size of a quarter to a half dollar. A half dollar size brown recluse is pretty big. I rarely see one the size of a silver dollar, or bigger like this thing is. Bridget's Mom said she has seen them bigger then this. I'm sure some of you reading this may have seen some bigger too. I have yet to find a Brown Recluse bigger then this.
thumbnail_20180603_180240_resized.jpg

As always I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!
thumbnail_20180603_184210_resized.jpg
Proof of dipshit playing with giant Brown Recluse spiders.

Stay Un-Tune-Ed...


Join the Truth Party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.
Do no harm but stand your ground.

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Theo meme.jpg

Sort:  

Do they move quick?

Yes! But he was easy to catch because he was actually burrowed in the fiber glass insulation when I found him.

Fuck that thing! Kill’em all!!!! 🙅‍♀️🕷
But I am good with jumping spiders, lol

We have pretty big jumping spiders here too. Next time I see one crawling on the ceiling I will have to get some pictures and make a post. They look like baby tarantellas.

Stop playing with spiders! Smash her now, LOL!

Get some comfrey tincture, it heals these bites overnight. In case you decide to keep playing with them.... :)

I never got bit. I'm smarter then that LOL.

I'm glad! Just figured if you play with fire, you should keep burn cream on hand. That spider was almost big enough to fillet.... :)

I got a blog from awhile back of a big wolf spider we had in our bed. That spider I caught and let go outside.

I used to catch spiders for the Entomology department to milk, to make anti-venom. I am especially good with black widows.

So I guess I play with spiders too, LOL! :)

HA HA I've heard of milking snakes for anti-venom but not spiders. How do you milk a spider? Sounds difficult.

First you need a real small stool.... :)

I don't really know how they did it in practice. The most interesting thing they did was to store them under refrigeration. Apparently it was safer to handle them when they were lethargic from the cold.

If you ever run into a web that is unusally strong, be very careful; it is a Widow. They used to harvest Black Widow web to use for crosshairs in bomb sights. THAT used to be TOP Secret, LOL! :)

what the helll

I am not at all sure that is a brown recluse...does it have the fiddleback? I looked it up...you are probably right...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84