Now that I have a wife and am settled down I can finally build my rare collection of Japanese hornets

in #nature6 years ago

0B855146-EC83-4B47-8F07-622EBD26271A.jpeg


Well, in my previous posts documenting my hornet capturing escapades, I have been mistaken.

My mistake is, to me, both happy and disappointing news at the same time. So far I have captured three different specimen in my monitoring traps outside. None of which have been the infamous Asian Giant Hornet. I have found the smaller version, known as kogatasuzumebachi, or Vespa analis insularis, monsuzumebachi (European Hornet - Vespa crabro flavofasciata), and kiirosuzumebachi, (Japanese Yellow Hornet - vespa simillima zanthoptera).

So, the good news is, so far there is no sign that the 10/10 aggressive and dangerous when disturbed marauding bastards known as Ōsuzumebachi (Japanese/Asian Giant Hornet) seem to be in our immediate vicinity. The disappointing news is that now I cannot study them and show guys! We’ll see, though. They may well turn up.

So far I have been able to identify these guys via some very handy websites showcasing the unique colorings and shapes of the “faceplates” between their eyes. It’s super interesting for me, for a plethora of reasons, many of which I’m not sure I can put a finger on. I am really geeking out over this stuff.

55BAD527-BCB0-4247-BF96-65106DD3F049.jpeg

This is the kogatasuzumebachi, or Vespa analis insularis, commonly known in some regions as the “Yellow” Vented Hornet. This is the slightly smaller cousin of the giant aggressive variety. Interestingly, this wasp is not known to be very aggressive at all, but stings occur somewhat frequently as it prefers to nest in and around houses and other human-created structures.

Note the faceplate between the eyes. At the bottom it has three distinctive “prongs” or points. This lets us know it is not the Asian Giant Hornet. The Ōsuzumebachi has two distinct points and no hint of a third in the middle.

562F4864-4CFC-42A5-AEA0-A83FB1A34324.jpeg



B2350F04-82C2-4036-AD58-87B03A9B2B66.jpeg

This is the monsuzumebachi, or European Hornet (Vespa crabro flavofasciata). It is similar in size to the kogatasuzumebachi, but has a distinctive dark coloring between its two large eyes.


As I mentioned, I have also captured two Japanese Yellow Hornets, vespa simillima zanthoptera, but they weren’t in very good shape when I checked the sticky paper trap after returning from vacation. There will most likely be more to examine later, though.

As it is still early in the life cycle/season, I know fairly certainly that each hornet I’ve captured is a queen. The workers will begin to be born in June, if I am not mistaken. Less queens means less nests around our house!

Previous posts on the topic:

Thanks for reading, and let’s stay interested in this wonderful world, together!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I'd be a little disappointed if you didn't geek out over insect corpses.

This is not what I expected to read when I went to Steemit this morning but regardless it was a good article! I love Japan I wish I could go there, even though it would not be for hornets!

You my friend, have a weird hobby. Educating, fascinating, but weirddd

Haha. Well, I used to do this shit as a kid. Just now came back to it. Living here, and having these things find their way into your house, you kinda gotta get interested! Partly for fucking self-preservation! :)

They really are neat little creatures though. So much to learn about this wonderful world. Life is weird!

Wow do you know what I think? I think by the end of the year, you will be swimming In honey 🍯

Ah maybe if I get some honeybees! These guys just kill other insects and maraud! They actually do control pests, though, and have their own function in the ecosystem.

@kafkanarchy84 you are doing a great job, honestly I am kinda scared of bees because of an experience I had when I was younger. And with the way you have outlined things the seem to be a set of interesting creatures. I hope one day I will get to overcome my fear for them and study them more closely.

Ah, I’m scared shitless of them. The more I learn, though, the more the fear goes away. They’re very interesting.

I also had a few bad run-ins with wasps and yellowjackets though, years ago, so maybe I can understand...

I am glad we don't have them around my house. The little advantage for not living in the country. Didn't know there are different types.
Are there wasps too, or only hornets? And can you tell us the difference there as well?

Japan is on my bucket list. I can't wait until I have enough Steem saved up for the trip...

Entemology is fascinating with all the subtle differences between species!

And somehow those really simple organisms know instantly that the dude flying in from a hundred feet away has three spikes on his forehead instead of two, and that we need to fight him. The animal world is amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78