Tree Tuesday ~ Mistletoe in a TreesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature5 years ago

IMG_7908.JPG

I have just returned to Manchester from a wedding weekend in Poland. While there, we noticed these balls in the trees. The leaves on the trees are just coming out but these are different - it's mistletoe.

It turns out that the cheery mistletoe we see at Christmas time is a parasitic plant, to be technical, an obligate hemiparasitic plant in the order Santalales. They grow on the host plant and extract water and nutrients from it.

There is also a vine growing up the tree.

I was without WiFi most of the weekend and I hope to resume my posting schedule. I have some real stories to tell!

References

Mistletoe

Images

Photo from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Dear @kansuze

APPICS is a next-generation social media app that rewards you for posting pictures and videos online!

I'd like to invite you to our fully functional testnet for iOS and Android, where you can simply login with your steemit account and start getting rewarded for your passion .

If you are on iOS, please visit https://ios.appics.com and download the app from there. If you are on Android, please send us an email to [email protected] from your google play store email address so that we can invite you exclusively!

Team APPICS

Visit our Website: https://appics.com/

Join us on Telegram: https://t.me/appics_official

I look forward to the stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10