Audubon Aquarium of the Americas in New Orleans

in #nature5 years ago

Located adjacent to the French Quarter, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas is a great place to spend a cold rainy day in downtown New Orleans.

We enjoyed spending the day with sharks, penguins, stingrays, otters and an incredible variety of sea life.

image

image

image

image

On the second floor of the Aquarium is Parakeet Pointe. It is an 800 square-foot free flight exhibit with hundreds of brightly-colored parakeets, also known as Budgerigars.

image

Parakeet Pointe is included with general admission to the Aquarium . Feed sticks may be purchased for $1.50 each, but we had birds landing on us even without buying any food.

image

image

image

image

Originally from Australia, the only natural color of budgies in the wild is the yellow/green variety. The blue budgies, white budgies, and others, are color mutations bred specifically for the pet trade.

image

image

Go here to enter

Shadow Photo Contest Round 60- Vehicle Shadows


Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
eSteem.app | ‍GitHub | YouTube
Telegram | Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

i know you always beautiful content create. overall your photography is very beautiful. i also seen your every photos step by step, aquarium fish is very colourful and birds are also cute that's why i resteem, wait for your next dear.

Thank you, that is very kind of you

A very beautiful shot by my friend. Honestly, my child really likes it. Until I had to enlarge the picture for my child. He really liked all the fish, and he also wanted to talk to the cute little bird. He was very happy to say thank you for you.
Thanks for this My friend

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad you like the post and very glad your son liked it! I thought about him when I posted it. osx6m83jb4.jpg

I often don't respond to comments that have that spammy Partiko advertisement, so if you no longer hear from me, that is why.

The bird is very tame, how nice it would be if my child saw it. Forgive me my friend, I will not repeat it, I promise.
Thanks you so much My friend

sure looks like a great place to spend time on a cold day, Lovely birds and cool fish, I had an aquarium for a few years, but it was such a hassle when I had to travel I let it go, but when I retire I hope to start one up again

They do take proper management, don't they? I have a small one that has two freshwater fish in it that had been a gift to Jim when he was sick. I never intended to have an aquarium. But these fish just seem to want to live forever!

Ohh yes I had a big 80 gallon tank and it was a lot of work but I lioved it
I would love to setup a saltwater tank but those are not cheap to setup

Jim did a saltwater tank once years ago but it developed algae and became more work than he had time for. The little tank I have has 1 rainbow shark and an algae eater. They seem to thrive on my neglect.

Maybe a little tank will be what I start with, I have had a few of them over the years, and sold them/given away each time i move at least after our next move. Hopefully it will be our last so I can focus and keep a tank I get running :)

That will be fun, and it gets closer every day!

Ohh yes not long now 👍😎👍

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

That's an interesting aquarium and bird paradise. I haven't been in one. I think I would be thrilled if I do get to visit one. I hope those birds don't poo on you lol!

Ha! We did check each other over when we left! They provided hand sanitizer and wipes. 😃

Lovely little budgies. Once we had a couple at home. I have seen many of them in Barcelona and Istanbul flying free.

All birds should be flying free!

This place is so beautiful. How amazing pictures😍

Thanks! It was a fun place to take pictures while it was raining outside.

Thanks! It was a fun
Place to take pictures while it
Was raining outside.

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It is always good to see your post and see those beautiful pictures! I know you really enjoy taking them and sharing it with us😊

I'm glad you like them, my son and daughter-in-law have been sending back beautiful pictures from Tulum and I'm quite envious of all the sunshine and loveliness that they are enjoying this week. It has been raining here and it is melting away some of the snow. Maybe spring is getting closer!

I'm sure they're enjoying it a lot. I have seen some pictures of Tulum and it is so beautiful. I hope soon spring arrives winter seems eternal!

Oh I love it makes me want to go to the zoo. Maybe San Diego zoo. Have not been yet.
Be well

Posted using Partiko Android

I have never been to that one. Are you near there?

Oh yea it's near where we live yes. I hear it's a big one too. Excited to go one day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Remarkable honest I really liked

I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29