RIP Big Old Oak

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I know I have posted various photos of this old oak tree that had been hit by lightning over 15 years ago and still remained standing at the corner of my yard. This afternoon, with a lot of commotion, it finally gave up and fell to earth with a very loud crash!

image

image

image

image

My skyline view changed dramatically!

image

The neighborhood wildlife will miss it as much as I will.

image

image

image

RIP Big Old Tree

image

Remember to look for wall shadows this week!

Shadow Photo Contest-Round 18- WALL SHADOWS

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Condolences... looks like the one in Pocahontas movie

Thank you! It did have a presence and will be missed.

muy bonitas tus fotos

Thanks so much!

Beautiful photographs. The moon between the branches is very original!

Thanks! I've had lots of photo opportunities with that tree over the years!

Stunning shots of this old tree, especially the first one 🌸💖🌸

Thanks! That was an incredible sunrise!

I feel strangely sad.

I feel like I am mourning the loss of an old friend! I was there the day it got struck by lightning. It was such a blast that big chunks of bark hit the house and it caused pictures to fall from my walls, but still it endured.

Wow...that would be scary and kind of fantastic at the same time. I would have jumped out of my seat for sure!

My initial response was to cover my head! Ha! As if that would have done any good!

I love these .. great shots... glad you grouped them so I can see them.

Thanks! I will miss that old tree!

Oh that is so sad but for certain some new vegetation will replace it:) Beautiful shots, Melinda:)

It was struck by lightning in the summertime and it was as if the leaves had been welded to the tree.. They turned brown, but hung on the branches for 3 years. It will rest where it has fallen and continue it's life cycle.

That means nothing is forever,everything will end one day. Just as that tree

Wise words, my friend!

Oh my @melinda010100. What a thing to witness!

It's love that you've told the story of it's life and "death" through your photographs though.

The noise it made did get my attention! I feel like I lost an old friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16