Nature Identification Thread #10- Now Paying out Steem Basic Income Memberships to Participants!

in #nature6 years ago

I'm finally back from being sick/ overwhelmed with work, and it's time for the weekly nature identification thread! Post pictures of plants, animals, rocks, or other cool stuff that you've photographed but can't identify, and I, along with anyone else who would like to help, will try and help you identify it. I'll be making some changes to it- most notably, I'll be using the SBD proceeds from this post to give out @steembasicincome memberships to people who post stuff to be identified or help me identify photos.


Oxalis acetosella, or common wood sorrel. Oxalis of all sorts are edible and a great source of vitamin C, and can be found all over the world, except in polar regions. They tend to resemble oversized clover, hence sometimes being referred to as bear clover, though some other unrelated plants are also referred to as bear clover. There are no poisonous lookalikes to wood sorrel. (Clover looks similar, but is also edible.) They have a tart, almost sour flavor most strongly present in the base of their stems. I've always wanted to make a salad with wood sorrel, mustard greens, nasturtium, and maybe some cress- a spicy salad. [Image source]

Remember: The most important information you can give along with any photo to be identified is its geographical location. This narrows down the range of possibilities more than any other info you can provide.

Plants:
Along with the photo, add where you found it, the time of year, the approximate altitude, and any interesting scents or textures not caught in the photo.

Animals:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, the time of year, the sounds it made, any interesting behaviors, and any other features not caught well in the photo.

Rocks:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, a description of the terrain it was found in, whether it was attached to a rock outcrop or found loose on the ground or buried in the soil, a description of its texture (especially its grain size), and a description of its weight and density. Fossils are included in this category.

Fungi:
I will not be identifying mushrooms and fungi for the most part unless I can point to it and go "Yeah, that's poisonous." I will definitely not be identifying edible mushrooms. Mushrooms should really only be identified for foraging purposes in person and by an expert. If another contributor wishes to identify them, that's their call, but I encourage them to be similarly cautious. I might also identify a few fungi that are clearly not being looked at for the purposes of eating, but that'll be a case by case decision.

@motordrive and @snowyknight both earned @steembasicincome memberships for submitting to the last nature identification thread or helping identify submissions. Congrats!


Bibliography:

Sort:  

Welcome back! Let's get this party started... haha I have a bunch of animals that I see but do not know

Saw this birdy while up around Deception Pass in WA state a couple weeks ago, I also have the bird cry recorded but not sure how to easily share a MOV file - anyway, maybe just the image is enough

IMG_6762.JPG

White-crowned Sparrow. I posted about this one about a month ago.
https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@katysavage/daily-birding-88

Here is the link to the All About Birds profile page for it. It includes a recording of the song you can listen to and compare to what you heard. Be aware that most birds have multiple calls. You can check out more at the Macaulay Library, an amazing free resource that has sound & video recordings, as well as photographs of MANY creatures around the world.

Thank you for the identification! I listened to the bird call and while the tone seems lighter (different individual) the song is the same! Also your photo quality is super

No problem! Many birds have different dialects in different areas, as well as what you are saying the difference between individuals. :)
Thank you! I recently upgraded my camera and am still learning the ropes. I had been working with a small point-and-shoot camera held against binoculars. It sounds peculiar but it worked! :)

Thanks for helping out with this ID! You'll definitely be getting one of the @steembasicincome memberships! Hope to see you more often in these threads in the future!

I would love to help out where I can! :) I will do my best to keep checking in!

Hi! :)

I have the doubt, what do you think or kind of flower child:
They were taken in azulita, merida state, venezuela. An approximate altitude of 1,500 meters above sea level. In a tropical climate, of cloudy forest.

Mirabel y Sinaral, Mayo 2012 051.jpg

we.jpg

I have no idea of what species they are, but wow, they are really beautiful flowers! The one at the bottom is just so nice-looking. I hope someone is able to ID them for you ;)

Hi!, what rock is the one in the photo, and what mineral are the crystals?
This rock was obtained on the bank of a river at 3500 meters above sea level, in a metamorphic geological environment, with the presence of rocks such as schist, gneiss and quartzite. But this rock, is different from the others, and has veins of green crystals, that call my attention, you know what it is ?, I am doubtful between beryllium, epidote, clinozoisite, hornblende, riebeckita. I am sure that inside there are also transparent quartz crystals. I want to know what the green crystals are.
I hope someone can help me.
Regards!

DSCF7613.JPG

That's a tricky one! If I had to choose from your list, I'd probably go with epidote or clinozoisite- however, there are a couple of other possibilities as well! There is a slim chance of it being peridotite- slim due to its presence in a metamorphic region. Slightly more likely is the possibility of it being green garnet. Green's not the most common color for garnets, but garnets are pretty much the most common metamorphic gem. It's hard to tell just from the photo, however. The crystals look a bit elongated, from what I could see, which makes epidote or clinozoisite strong contenders.

Now that I think about it, there are also small red garnet mines, very close to where the rock is.
I think it's an epidote, It hurts that the photo does not fit me better.
Thanks my friend.

Thanks for sharing!

h.jpg
Dalmatian Hinterland in March

Any idea about this insect? I could not get a better photo, unfortunately, so I don't really have high hopes of an identification. It was around 1cm in length.

U5dsyE6FWTFD7jNPoEHTyWXUxPXMbDK_1680x8400.jpg

Location: South-eastern Norway. Time of the year: Yesterday.

Got it identified in other post where I also posted the picture, and it's most likely a Lilioceris merdigera. Anyone got any opinions on this ID? :)

That's definitely the correct ID, so far as I can tell!

Awesome, thanks for the second opinion! I'm feeling pretty confident that it is the correct species now.

Sorrel is used in Russia a lot, mostly in soups, including what is referred to as 'green borscht' (but it's nothing like regular (red) borscht). But we don't eat it here in Cyprus, I've never seen it being sold ((

Glad to see you back.

I didn't know that it was used in Russian food, that's really cool! And it's good to be back!

That's a very good idea, how good is the income from steembasicincome by the way?

One share is small, but you can get multiple shares, and even if you are earning just a small upvote from it, it's permanent, for your entire life on Steemit. So those pennies add up. :)

This really sounds very interesting!

Wonderful to hear that you recovered from overwhelming work and also hearing that you are contributing some for Steem Basic Income.

So far I don't have much to photograph yet around plants / animals, but will definitely support your efforts for a great movement for Steem Basic Income.

upvoted

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21