Nature Identification Thread #18- Now Paying out Steem Basic Income Memberships to Participants!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

It's time for the weekly nature identification thread! Post pictures of plants, animals, rocks, or other cool stuff that you've photographed but can't identify, and I, along with anyone else who would like to help, will try and help you identify it. I'll be making some changes to it- most notably, I'll be using the SBD proceeds from this post to give out @steembasicincome memberships to people who post stuff to be identified or help me identify photos.

image000000.jpg
A Mammuthus columbi (Columbian Mammoth) molar, found in a sandpit in Nebraska.The discoverers told their friends about it, who happened to be my old roommate's family, who told him, who told me about it- through that convoluted chain this (and several other) pictures were sent, allowing me to identify it for them. Photo used with their permission.

Remember: The most important information you can give along with any photo to be identified is its geographical location. This narrows down the range of possibilities more than any other info you can provide.

Plants:
Along with the photo, add where you found it, the time of year, the approximate altitude, and any interesting scents or textures not caught in the photo.

Animals:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, the time of year, the sounds it made, any interesting behaviors, and any other features not caught well in the photo.

Rocks:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, a description of the terrain it was found in, whether it was attached to a rock outcrop or found loose on the ground or buried in the soil, a description of its texture (especially its grain size), and a description of its weight and density. Fossils are included in this category. (Despite my greatest expertise lying here, rocks tend to be some of the hardest things to identify in a photo.)

Fungi:
I will not be identifying mushrooms and fungi for foraging purposes. Mushrooms should really only be identified for foraging purposes in person and by an expert. If another contributor wishes to identify them, that's their call, but I encourage them to be similarly cautious. I might also try to identify a few fungi that are clearly not being looked at for the purposes of eating, but that'll be a case by case decision.

@artofwisdom, @shasta, @snowyknight, & @motordrive all earned @steembasicincome memberships for submitting to the last nature identification thread or helping identify submissions. Congratulations!

Sort:  

Hello @mountainwashere and followers. Ok lets stay on the plant and living thing plane.

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 4.48.22 pm.png

Here is a tree, it is on the coast in east africa. I took this photo. Those branches are about 1.5 to 2 m off the ground.

Does anyone know what kind of tree this is? To me it looks like a pine of sorts with long stems but I am no expert... Thanks!

My wife @shasta suggested that you or one of your viewers may be able to help with this odd bug. Some sort of a moth or something. Not sure what it is. color wise the picture pretty much has it, over all size slightly less than a quarter, (would fit on a quarter with no over hanging parts.

Strange moth bug.jpg
It is sitting on my jeep door and phone is less than an inch and a half away I would guess. Washed out beige/white, on my screen the color is pretty much the color it was. Three shades shy of white and of beige.

Location: Alaska, Kenai Peninsula
Time: About 7:00 PM
Lighting: still full daylight 4+ hours til sunset.
Weather: It rained the previous two or three days, today, windy 10kts gust to about 15 as an estimate, Partly cloudy cumulus clouds. Temp about 56 degrees Fahrenheit.
Area: Mostly woodland, birch, spruce, cottonwood. Well drained soil.

Thanks for any help.

Pretty cool little moth. Thank you. I had never seen a skinny winged moth before, I thought it was a moth because it was more fuzzy looking than the smoother texture of a butterfly.

image

Not sure if you can see it... Anyway I was moving my trash bin outside the garage and lo and behold this was hiding out underneath! A lizard of some kind I guess? It's pretty cool and very unexpected

February seattle area

looks like some kind of salamander, perhaps ' Ambystoma gracile ' - Northwestern salamander, not sure tho.
http://www.wildherps.com/species/A.gracile.html

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Cool story! Make Nature Identification global!
(re: A Mammuthus columbi (Columbian Mammoth) molar, found in a sandpit in Nebraska.The discoverers told their friends about it, who happened to be my old roommate's family, who told him, who told me about it- through that convoluted chain this (and several other) pictures were sent, allowing me to identify it for them. Photo used with their permission.")

Lovely idea, @mountainwashere. Interesting mammoth molar. 😊 I will have to find something but it will be difficult to follow that one.

Found on the roadside in the polish forest week ago:

DSC06974.jpg

DSC06973.jpg

DSC06958.jpg

Been banging my head against this one for a second, no luck so far, sorry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87