How to Catch Crayfish Crawdads | Family Fun Time in the Mountains

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


Hello DTube and Steemians! In this vlog episode of In the Kitchen with Matt myself and my niece Elsa will show you how to catch crayfish or crawdads. Last week during our wonderful trip to the White Mountains, we went fishing at Hawley Lake, it is nestled at 8300 ft elevation, on an Apache Indian Reservation. We thought we would try our hand at catching some crawdads or crayfish, however you want to call them. We always called them crawdads growing up. That was a very fun past time growing up, catching a half bucket full of these little guys and then cooking them up.

MVI_6712.00_03_31_05.Still008.jpg

It was also fun to have my 83 year old dad with us. I grew up fishing with my pops, many fond memories just he and I, fishing. Thank you for joining me in some family fun! Let's get started!

Don't forget to follow/subscribe, upvote, and re-steem if you like. :) Thanks so much for your support!

If you have any questions, comments, or requests leave them down below and I will get back to you as soon as I can. If you have any crawdad hunting experiences make sure to share them down below with me. :)

MVI_6712.00_01_45_16.Still004.jpg

Equipment:
hotdogs or bologna
long string
panty hose (optional)
net

MVI_6712.00_03_06_15.Still006.jpg

I am sure there are multiple ways out there to catch these little guys, but this is the way we used to do it. :)

Video Production Gear I use:
Canon 70D
Canon 50mm 1.4 lens
Canon 28mm 1.8 lens
Rode Video Mic Pro
Amazon Basics Mic Stand
Juiced Link Audio Mixer
Adobe Premiere and After Effects

MVI_6712.00_04_27_21.Still011.jpg

*Video and pictures are my original content and owned by me.
***Little crawfish on thumbnail was taken from Pixabay. :) I wish I could draw like that!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It looks very funny

hahaha yeah it does, kind of like a little lobster.

Go Elsa! Great job catching and being able to grab him from the back! Looks like a fun day to spend with family:) was fun to watch😄
nice of you to let the crawfish go in the end🤗
Loving your videos @mrchef111!

Thank you! Yeah it was a fun day. And after Elsa caught one, of course the other younger girls that were with us wanted to try as well. I should have got them on film too. haha, yes yes, I am very nice like that. haha

One of my favorite hobbies growing up! Nice to have your pops along too!

Thanks!! Yeah it was so fun growing up doing that. I will admit we caught and ate crayfish out of streams we probably shouldn't have. One was just the normal local park that had a stream through it, the water was gross, lol well I guess not too gross. lol but we didn't care. haha those were the days late 80's early 90's nothing could touch us! haha Yeah my pops loves that kind of stuff. He just can't get around like he used to.

friend your photos look great, how glad I am that you enjoyed. And what a different and unique moment. Hopefully, repeat it soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75