What a special morning!

in #nature6 years ago

Extra post this morning!

When I get home, I usually water the garden with the kids. It's a nice little morning routine. Today, nobody was up, and the sky looks like rain, so I didn't water, but walked the property instead.

Checked the squash for fruit. Nada.
Checked the cucumbers for fruit. Nada.
Checked the okra for fruit. Guess what! Nada.

When I went to look at the pecan trees, expecting them all to be charred sticks of nada, there was a surprise!

IMG_20180711_081432045.jpg

An adult female ornate box turtle! What a treat!

I stopped in my tracks and looked around. One time when I was a kid we saw two box turtles in our yard. Apparently it was mating season. Looking around, I saw another a few feet away!

IMG_20180711_081455854.jpg

A male!

I let them be and went to look at the South bed and see if it needed some water. It had been watered pretty heavily. There's a lot of organic matter on it that I hope will soak up and hold a lot of water. I was surprised with a very rare treat!

IMG_20180711_081531102.jpg

A second male ornate box turtle!

I have never seen three wild box turtles in the same place at the same time. I set them together and waited for the kids to get up. They were so excited to see three turtles, and so was I!

IMG_20180711_082126397.jpg

As I sat and waited for the kids, I got to read a bit about the turtles. These ones don't reach sexual maturity for 8-10 years, so these turtles are older than my kids. They also don't ever move very far from the place they're born, so we'll probably see them again. They don't do well in captivity, so we won't take them in and try any captive breeding.

To top it all off, I received my third miner payout. Up to around $15 in ETH mined so far.

What a morning! I hope your day is as good as mine is turning out to be. Now I'm going to bed for real. It's past my bedtime.

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

Turtle soup! Stellar! :D

Oh yeah, people eat turtles all the time. I never have though, and these aren't really that common to me. No turtle soup here, I'm gonna let them do their turtle thing.

Ha, good one!

We have been chatting chickens a rabbits for a while now, and these guys show up. I know turtles are pretty common in tx, i wonder if people are actually eating them?

These little guys aren't worth the effort. Sometimes if a large snapping turtle creates a problem while fishing, well... they are very yummy batter and fried,... just saying.

No kidding!?! Im actually thrilled to hear that you've tried it! Don't say it tastes like chicken... what's it like?

Taste is some where between chicken and frog legs. It's actually pretty good.

Three! That's pretty cool! Nice way to start the day.

Topped off with a good restful sleep, and now I'm at work early for overtime. I'd call it a good day :)

What a treat! For some reason, turtles were always one of my favourite animals but unfortunately you don't see them in the wild in Switzerland where I grew up, nor in Northern Australia where I live now. I wouldn't want to eat them though, I like them too much for that, but I have had crocodile a couple of times (even though I like them too).

Ooh! How does crocodile taste? Anything like alligator? Alligator is my favorite.

Haven't had alligator but presumably it's pretty similar. Not much of a distinct flavour and needed good jaw muscles, but overall not bad. :)

I have a new goal. I must eat crocodile.

Hey @nateonsteemit, you just received a random 100% upvote for your activity at the @minnowsmith project! Stay tuned and keep mining. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05