AN INCREDIBLE PAIR

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

Two very cool salamanders.


While in Wisconsin over Father's Day weekend, I had the opportunity to spend some time with Monster Truck searching for wild salamanders. There are seven native salamander species in Wisconsin, and we were out to locate one, the Blue Spotted Salamander (Ambystoma laterale) which was one of my childhood favorites. We didn't exactly find many growing up, but it sure was exciting when we did.

I took my oldest son out to a specific location where I knew them to live, and soon we were hard at work searching for the elusive creature. As things would have it, we actually located another species, the rarest in the state! It was the Four-Toed Salmander (Hemidactylium scutatum) which is a very interesting type of lungless salamander. Eventually we also located a Blue-Spotted Salamander, and took the opportunity to photograph them together.

I had shared some video and photos of our adventure already, but I wanted to share these ones of the creatures together before I sent the files over to my external hard drive. Here they are, enjoy!

A PAIR OF SALAMANDERS - PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

Hey @Papa-pepper... wanna answer a few questions for the Homesteaders co-op? You'd be featured this thursday for it 😁

That would be great. You want them on Disccord or I can share them through google docs bit I'll need an email please.

Wait a minute... that blue spotted creature is lungless???

Very cool!

No, no, no.... The red one!

Still... a creature witout lungs! Do they have sonething more like gills?

This from Wiki:

Most significantly, they lack lungs, conducting respiration through their skin, and the tissues lining their mouths.

So cool .. kind of like fungi

When I was younger we would find them in the water meter box in the alley.

Big treat.

Another treat was chasing the horny toad.

You could put them to sleep by turning them over and rubbing their tummy.

I'm told (but have no experience) that Florida gators will do the same.

Yikes!

Posted using Partiko Android

Did you go to rainbow?

Posted using Partiko Android

The Blue Spotted one is crazy. I never found those in Indiana

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87