FIRST BLACK WIDOW OF 2019

in #nature5 years ago

Yeah, that's gotta be a good sign!


Flipped a rock today. Guess who was hiding beneath it? (Okay, maybe I should have changed the post title and cover image before asking that, but it's an "open book test.")

Yeah, you got it correct! It was a Black Widow Spider!!! Congrats and good "guess." Anyway, these spiders do exist, and whether you are terrified of them or not, they are part of life that some people just have to deal with. I'm still going to try to get a better photograph of it, but I pulled off a few good ones even in the wind. Enjoy them if you can!

BLACK WIDOW PHOTOS

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

They're beautiful for sure, but I have to say I'm glad we don't have them here. I had one land on my nose when I opened a door once when I was a kid. I didn't know that's what it was until my brother put it in the microwave and it flipped over. I freaked out and scrubbed my nose. Mom got to scrub the microwave, I think. Boys...

Beautimous! Very nice find @papa-pepper. I love finding Black Widows. I found a Black Widow two summers ago. I'll be making a photo shoot if I ever find another one. I'm always mystified by these spiders.

@papa-pepper How Cool would it be to see with a Scorpion ?

Are you kidding? I'm not putting a Black Widow in my mouth!!! What are YOU? Crazy?

You CRAZY ?, I Know You're Not.................

I grew up poking and prodding them. Fun creatures. You can get them spitting mad if you needle em long enough.
Lessons from a well spent youth.

LOL - Yeah, this one was totally docile the whole time... needed more needling.... Thanks for the tip!

Well it is cooler still so she isn't all warm and limber a like summer time encounter.

Great captures!
I used to see them all the time in South Carolina. When I was younger I was always told if you see the red hour glass it’s a black widow. Steem on :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks like she's a silver stacker pirate too....🤣🤣

We get the Redback spiders here in our garages and sheds in Australia. They're the cousin to the Black Widow and pack a very nasty bite. We keep our distance from them.

Captivating pictures.
This could cause serious harm if it gets to attack anyone

Those things can move FAST if they want to. Great pictures btw.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ughhh! I can handle snakes, but I don't want to see spiders ever. Black widows are a fact of life here in the Carolinas, always a concern when kids are playing outside. I'd rather face a nest of copperheads--also common here.

I hate getting bitten by those guys. The abdominal cramps are so painful. Ouch!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10