THE ARKANSAS CHOCOLATE TARANTULA - WHAT A FIND!

in #nature6 years ago

Look what we found!


There we were, just driving home from town. Suddenly, a big, creepy, crawly thing appeared, attempting to cross the road. Almost at once I was finding a place to pull over and running back up the road.

Sure enough, it was still there. A big Arkansas Chocolate Tarantula! It's breeding season here, so we may be seeing more of them soon. A female can lay over 500 eggs in a season, and these creatures take ten years or more to reach sexual maturity. In captivity, they can live for twenty five years or more. We're hoping this one is pregnant so we can hatch out a couple hundred more!

THE TARANTULA VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-tarantula

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

@papa-pepper I guess you are a nature lover. Little creatures. He who made them did for a purpose, which we may not discovered.

wtf 200-800 eggs but with the 10 years they have to wait i think it is somehow balanced :p

Now that's a Halloween decoration!
Those legs look so crazy. Not sure if I would want one as a pet...for 25 years!

This is definitely the time of year when the Ozark county roads are crawling with these guys, but it's been a while since I've seen one.

This was the first big one for us this season.

Holy sh@t !! Didn't know they had those in Arkansas ,Papa

Yeah, me either, until it was too late! Now, we are surrounded!

Found a male in my house day before yesterday. Relocated him...

Found a male in my
House day before yesterday.
Relocated him...

                 - littlebitfarm


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

There's that haiku bot again! If I am trying I can't tempt it to show up, but for this??? Ha ha!

Not to mention, reading this as haiku, makes it sound like I am not talking about Tarantulas😎

No tarantulas in Belgium, still I wouldn't mind, but my wife would!
Great find, and very brave of your daughter!

Yeah, that little girl tough as cookies!

Wow. It a very big spider. I guess. I hope it not too poisonous.? Pls. Be careful on this one. It looks scary but beautiful 👍👍👍@papa-pepper

@papa-pepper Nature at its Best......Keep bringing us the Animals.

I'll keep finding them!

What a beautiful tarantula!! I remember driving through Arizona at sunset the road would be full of them and you would have to swerve to miss them there were so many.i never saw a chocolate one though- nice find 🌈🦋🌴💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86