THE BEAUTY OF THE BEAST

in #nature6 years ago

These are some cool looking cicadas!


Often, when I stop and admire things, I am blown away by the coloration, designs, and patterns that they have. I've met several varieties of Cicadas in my life, but I think I like the coloration of this particular species best. With the interesting shade of green mixed into the rest, it looks amazing and impressive to me. What do you think?

THE BEAUTIFUL CICADA

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-cicada

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Not bad for something that spent seventeen years in he ground in the pupa stage. My Daughter used to have a Dachshund that would catch these, and carry them in his mouth. He would go looking for Momma, and when he found her; he would eat it, because it grossed her out. If he couldn't find her, he usually let them go. I don't think he liked them much, he just liked to watch her squirm. I would call and warn her, and hear the door, close, LOL! He was a rotten Boy for sure! :)

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2320445/After-17-years-underground-summer-Cicadas-outnumber-people-east-coast-600-1.html

She hated to hear the crunch, that was why he went looking for her! It was Funny to watch for sure!
:D

The coloration reminds me of military-style camouflage. Great job with the up close images. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah... was wondering if the pics were taken with a phone??

CANON EOS REBEL T7i - per recommendation of @mericanhomestead

Cool... Will have to look into this camera.. Does it take video?? @mericanhomestead Thanks for chiming in Facebook... people do not understand Steemit. They think it's "selling" The Gospel... because I am in ministry... I get the feeling they think I should post and not make a profit...

The most beatiful and ferocious creature of almighty.. And ur shots pro level bro

Funny... I never really liked bugs... Until I started understanding the beauty they reflect through the almighty... so true!

Great shots @papa-pepper! Love the colours on this one. They sure are noisy though. We must have had our seventeen-year hatch out last year. My whole side garden was covered with them! One or two make life interesting but hundreds...not so much.

They sure are noisy! I agree. They like to show up in the background of my videos!

Scene stealers! LOL

He is very pretty. Yes it wasn’t until I came to Costa Rica and saw a turquoise cicada that I realized how beautiful they can be. Yours is awesome @papa-pepper, so nice to see different ones around the world.

TURQUIOSE CICADA.jpg

WOW! Absolutely WOW! If I ever some visit, will you show me one?

In that video above, about 70 minutes worth of footage I shot was sped up to less than a minute. It is a sight to behold.

Haha if you visit Costa Rica I will show you a jungle full of amazing creatures! It would be an absolute pleasure! That’s a stunning video, congratulations on shooting that. It’s funny how they leave their ghostlike empty cases stuck to trees too. I see a lot of those💛🌴🦋🌈❤️

I found a picture of one! They are very beautiful.



My sister has a BMW that is the same color!

I think I've never seen a real one. Yours looks so beautiful! Amazing colors!

Hahaha :D This would make me faint :D

That was a really close shot! The colour combination are really brilliant although the look some what like a bigger house fly, i have never seen it before.
F

All Creatures Great and Small.
☯️🤗 @papa-pepper.

Cicadas are one of my favorite insect designs. Green grasshoppers too.

Cool! I've always enjoyed them.

I think it was @sugarcreek that had a shot of one cracking it's shell, and was wondering what they looked like a couple of weeks ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85