Invasion of the tent Caterpillars!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


This is a follow up video to our current tent caterpillar invasion from this post the other day..

They are still going strong!

They took a couple days off when it got a little bit cold and rainy but they seam to be re awoken with a vengeance today. So I take you on a quick tour of a few sites close to the house. Of course I can't go to far without my little side kick joining for some guest commentary and narration.

They have pretty much eaten every leaf from every tree in my yard! Like literally!

They seam to love the poplars, then they moved on to my apple and cherry trees. Now they are finally making there way to there less favorite trees, including the pears then the raspberry and strawberry bushes. I even found a few pine and spruce trees in certain areas of the yard where they have started eating the new growth of needles!

I am told that they will just go away after another week or so, and they all the trees should regrow leaves and everything will be back to normal. I hope this is true, but I'm sure it will stress the trees and ruin any chance of an apple crop this year, but I'll let you know about the progress.

Here's a couple extra photos from the other day for your viewing pleasure.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

When you said "invasion" in the topic, i thought it was just an exergeration until i saw the photo. Wow those caterpillas are many! its really an invasion.

Yeah, it's definitely a full on invasion!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Oh no, they're taking over! They're everywhere! @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30