Landscape Photography: the amazing emerald world of the Radun Wetlands

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Today, I would like to take you to one of my favorite places found just outside my Czech hometown of Opava.

IMG_20180605_174319.jpg

Situated in the nearby village of Radun, this amazing natural spot is called the Radun Wetlands. It is a network of five ponds and pools fed and connected by the Radunka Creek.

IMG_20180605_173920.jpg

The Radun Wetlands is a protected natural area as it provides a very unique and fragile ecosystem that is home to numerous animal and plants species.

IMG_20180605_173408.jpg

The ponds are literally brimming with all forms of aquatic life. They provide habitat for frogs, salamanders, snakes, insects and even some rare bird species including the nightingale and the reed warbler.

IMG_20180605_173301.jpg

Despite the stunning beauty and biodiversity of the place, there are usually very few people there so you can enjoy some nice piece and quiet while strolling around the ponds.

IMG_20180605_174830.jpg

Actually, quiet is not the right word here, especially if you visit this place in late afternoon or evening as that is when the frogs perform their remarkable croaking concerts :)

All of these images were taken by me and they are also my entry for today´s #landscapephotography contest hosted by @juliank.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Looks like a very pretty place @phortun.

I love how you've caught the reflections in the water. 😊

It is an amazing place, I bike there often ;)

Beautiful photos. Our wetlands are so important to the health of our planet.

Thank you Melinda. Oh yeah, wetlands are home to a surprisingly high number of creatures and forms of life. And I love their isolation as few people usually visit them :)

Usually the wildlife includes lots of biting insects. Were the bugs bad?

One would expect tons of mosquitos there but actually, I didnt get a single bite. Btw it is the ticks what has been a big issue in the Czech Republic this year. They are really everywhere.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=landscape-photography-the-amazing-emerald-world-of-the-radun-wetlands


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Podzimní snímky byly nějaké veselejší. Tyhle však taky stojí za zhlédnutí ;-)

Raduňské mokřady jsem fotil teď poprvé, to muselo být asi nic jiného, nejspíš Sádrák (Stříbrné jezero) v Opavě ;) Ale i ty mokřady jsou fajn místo - žádní lidi, jen brčálová zeleň a kvákání žab všude kolem :)

;-). Já si to nepřeložil. Pár kilometrů sem nebo tam ;-).

Ahoj, ještě že existuje Google překladač. ;-) I fotky z českých luhů a hájů máš výborné.;-)

That really sounds like the kind of place I love to visit @phortun amazing photography.

Visiting from @qurator "The Daily Qurator #275" where your content has been selected.

Thank you, I didnt even know this post was selected by them :) What a nice surprise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77