Macrophotography: mango seeds and what you can get out of them

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

To be honest with you, I was originally going to just post this close-up photo and let you guess what it is but I eventually decided to make this post a little guide on how to grow your own mango plants.

IMG_20170130_140028.jpg

So yeah, these weird ugly things are actually sprouting mango seeds. After removing the outer shell from the seed you get once you eat your mango, you just put it in wet cotton and leave it there sit for a few days. Then, you can plant them in a pot filled with soil.

This is what they will look like after a few weeks...

IMG_20170212_131318.jpg

...and after a few months :) It is a beautiful and very easy to care for plant.

IMG_20170217_140623.jpg

The first photo is also my entry for today´s #macrophotography contest hosted by @juliank.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

That's interesting @phortun. I wonder if I could grow one here, in the house.

May I ask you a favour?
Would you vote for my photograph in the Qurator photo competition.
I've been nominated and, if I win, I'll get a nice upvote for 30 days.
You basically have to upvote my comment where I have pasted the link and picture of my rhododendrons. 1% is fine as it's the number of votes that count rather than the value.
Scroll down and fine my comment here: https://steemit.com/qurator/@qurator/qurator-s-photo-friday-photography-competition-27
Thanks a bunch!

Absolutely, just upvoted that comment and will send a few more upvotes your way to make sure you win ;) I was selected in the final too some time ago, it was the Tasty Tuesday and I was lucky enough to win that 30-day membership ;) Good luck Gillian and feel free to let me know anytime there is someting I can help with ;)

Thank you so much @phortun. I've had so much support with this it's been wonderful!

I did't ask at first but then I got such a positive response from people I got a bit braver. 😊

I'm on the way to Devon at the moment so can't check to see how I'm doing as I have limited time but it was looking good when I left home.

Have a fun evening and thanks again. 😍

Anytime Gillian, it was my pleasure to help out but I am afraid it was not enough :( I just checked and one of your competitors have more upvotes on her entry :( I am sorry.

Thanks @phortun. I really appreciated your support.

I'm feeling totally fed up about it, this morning, to the honest. I just got up and saw the numbers.

The winner is a member of one of the well known community groups here and apparently she asked them for 47 votes yesterday evening and got them, while I was in bed.

The week before it was won run by someone who was part of an international community group, so if you're not part of one of those communities that all vote for each other, then it seems you're out of luck.

I won't be entering anything like this again.

It seems pointless if someone can come in at the last minute and get votes from a group they already asked earlier in the week.

I am really disappointed because it's a really good prize and would have made a big difference to me.

But this place is always such a roller coaster ride with one thing and another. No doubt my disappointment will pass.

And, on the positive side, I was really humbled by the number of individuals who stepped up and supported me, not because I'm part of a group, but because I'm me. That's what I need to keep focusing on.

I totally understand your disappointment Gillian. When I was nominated a few months ago, just 6 votes was enough for me to win but these days, with all those discord groups and organized communities, it is much harder to win the final and even 50 or 60 upvotes dont have to be enough... But just like you said - there were many people (including me) who supported you out of true friendship and I think that counts too ;) Let me upvote your comment as that is the least I can do for you now. Have a nice weekend!

Aw. Thank you @phortun. That's so kind of you.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend too! 😍

Onwards and upwards. 😁

Hezká rostlina. Zkoušel jsem nedávno zasadit avokádo a taky pěkně roste.

Jo, avokádo jsme taky zkoušeli :) Roste hezky, ale strašně dlouho trvá, než ta pecka vyklíčí. U toho manga je to opravdu během pár dní.

Tak to je pravda. To musím někdy vyzkoušet :-)

oh nice I'm also growing mango trees =). They got so big that I have to put them in the ground now. I hope to get fruit soon!

I know, I love your tropical garden anytime you show us in your home video :) But as for yor mangos, I am afraid you will need to wait a bit longer - I heard they first start to bear fruit after 8 years :D

Congratulations @phortun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

You just planted 0.21 tree(s)!


Thanks to @phortun

We have planted already 4436.96 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25677.32
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69